Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Vicious World / Plays The Music Of Rufus Wainwright
Album:Plays The Music Of Rufus Wainwright Collection:Jazz
Artist:Vicious World Added:08/2011
Label:Spinaround Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2011-08-07 Pull Date:2011-10-09 Charts:Jazz
Week Ending:9 Oct2 Oct25 Sep18 Sep21 Aug14 Aug

Recent Airplay
1.Fri, 18 Nov 11:Fo
No Cover, No Minimum
4.Fri, 23 Sep 11:Wedge
No Cover, No Minimum - Coltrane Day
2.Tue, 04 Oct 11:Be Sharp
5.Fri, 16 Sep 11:abraxas
razor's edge
3.Fri, 30 Sep 11:Fo
No Cover, No Minimum
6.Thu, 18 Aug 11:MCarmen

Album Review
Reviewed 2011-08-07 
VICIOUS WORLD: Plays the Music of Rufus Wainwright
Spinaround, 2011

MODERN JAZZ – This unique septet is dedicated to interpreting the work of singer-songwriter Rufus Wainwright in an instrumental jazz context. The arrangements are compelling, and the playing is solid. Sax and clarinet embroider the trombone’s lead voice as a tight rhythm section deepens the mood. Guitar adds a sharper edge, countered by the elegance of violin and cello. Really nice stuff all around.

All tracks very good. Fo’s Picks: 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9

1. 4:41 – midtempo, shuffles forward: sax & guitar have an air of anticipation
2. 3:19 – sweet ballad: strings & clarinet dance softly under trombone lead
3. 6:48 – gritty guitar sets up a slow rock stomp, trombone chatters & argues
4. 6:26 – slow melancholy: strings ebb & flow, soloists drift gently, so sweet…
5. 6:33 – nostalgic waltzing tune, lovely trombone/clarinet/violin interplay
6. 3:44 – relaxed circus-music march, bounces with a wink, martial drum break
7. 3:52 – off-balance, slight dissonance, rises from low creep to airy mystery
8. 1:53 – formal strings and warm horns merge in a brief nostalgic wave
9. 6:18 – uptempo, churning: tart guitar tone, winding sax solo, urgent bass
10. 2:04 – slow: free guitar over sluggish unison melody & string drone
11. 6:22 – warm, elegant melody: edgy guitar, calming bass, sax reaches out

[ Fo ] August 2011

Track Listing
1.Going To A Town 6.Matinee Idol
2.Natasha 7.Peach Trees
3.This Love Affair 8.Millbrook
4.Memphis Skyline 9.The Art Teacher
5.Leaving For Paris 10.In A Graveyard
 11.Dinner At Eight