Friedberger, Eleanor / Last Summer
Album: Last Summer   Collection:General
Artist:Friedberger, Eleanor   Added:Aug 2011
Label:Merge Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-12-11 Pull Date: 2012-02-12
Week Ending: Feb 12 Feb 5 Jan 22 Jan 15 Jan 8 Jan 1 Dec 25 Dec 18
Airplays: 2 2 4 1 1 3 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 21, 2013: Heyyy Moon Buddy
I Won't Fall Apart On You Tonight
4. Feb 03, 2012: InAcrossAwayFromMe
Owl's Head Park
2. Feb 10, 2012: Time Traveler
My Mistakes
5. Feb 03, 2012: Time Traveler
My Mistakes
3. Feb 10, 2012: meow
Owl's Head Park
6. Jan 20, 2012: Time Traveler
My Mistakes

Album Review
MC Dizzy Jackson
Reviewed 2011-11-30
Eleanor and her brother are The Fiery Furnaces. This is her first solo release and a pretty good one. She’s got a sultry, sexy, wise and, when it needs to be, powerful voice. It’s indie pop / rock with a tinge of prog or psyche, and spacey. Some really cool stuff here. Instrumentation of guitar, bass, drums, keys. Play any. FCC #4.

*My Favorites*: 1, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10.

1. *(4:29) Mid. Vocal starts right off, strong and upfront, band comes in, crunchy production sound with cool xylophone (?). Horn near end. Catchy and cool - very cool.
2. (4:08) Slow / Mid. Plodding beat, with tambourine. Piano, drums, guitar. Some stop / start phrases, vocals get a bit echoey. Trippy keys effects.
3. (3:21) Slow / Mid. Dreamy, echoey vocals, drums, keys, handclaps, tambourine.
4. (4:33) Mid. FCC ‘shit’ with 2:37 remaining. Drum start, then band with bass upfront. Echoey vocals, very dreamy, cool mood. Cool lyrics. Beautiful. voice.
5. *(5:20) Mid. Funky with bass, guitar, hip drumbeat, keys. Smooth stuff, gets big sounding. Cool bass solo. Killer stuff.
6. *(2:48) Slow / Mid. Mellow, funky groove with bass upfront, plodding beat, slight mic effect. Really laid back and hip.
7. *(3:36) Slow / Mid. Ominous with heavy, disturbing lyrics. Trippy effects, spacey.
8. (3:39) MId. Big effects, hollow, echoey, catchy, poppy, heavy drumbeat. Big piano flourish finish.
9. *(4:31) Mid. Near psyche sounds, echoey with echoey vocals, dreamy, spacey stuff and cool. Jazzy end, bleeds into next song and could be played together.
10. *(3:14) Mid. Could be played after previous song as it bleeds into this. Kind of jazzy, sparse, handclaps, harmonica - all very, very cool. Coda with 0:48 seconds remaining - a bunch of bird, jungle sounds with some instruments - interesting but could be passed over.

Track Listing
1. My Mistakes   6. Glitter Gold Year
2. Inn Of The Seventh Ray   7. One-Month Marathon
3. Heaven   8. I Won't Fall Apart On You Tonight
4. Scenes From Bensonlurst   9. Owl's Head Park
5. Roosevelt Island   10. Early Earthquake