Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Augustines (Formerly We Are Augustines) / Rise Ye Sunken Ships
Album:Rise Ye Sunken Ships Collection:General
Artist:Augustines (Formerly We Are Augustines) Added:Sep 2011
Label:Turnstyle Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2012-01-08 Pull Date:2012-03-11 
Week Ending:Mar 4Feb 26Feb 19Feb 12Feb 5Jan 29Jan 22

 Recent Airplay
1.Jan 28, 2022:KZSU Time Traveler
Chapel Song
4.Sep 02, 2016:Time Traveler
Chapel Song
2.Jul 10, 2020:KZSU Time Traveler
Chapel Song
5.Nov 27, 2015:Time Traveler
Chapel Song
3.Aug 23, 2019:KZSU Time Traveler
Chapel Song
6.Mar 13, 2015:Time Traveler (Eye-Opener)
Chapel Song

Album Review
Kyle Vandenberg
Reviewed 2011-12-23 
We Are Augustines: Rise Ye Sunken Ships: Debut from this Brooklyn-based alt rock group. The band members have gone through hell rising above their rough backgrounds and dealing with music label drama to get this album through. Very unique male vocals, sounding kind of strained and pained, but still pleasant to listen to. FCC clean. Try 3, 1, 11, 9, 7
1) 3:09 Catchy guitar & synth riff, shakers and slow & steady drums.
2) 4:15 Lightly strummed guitar, slightly whispery vocals in the intro, gets more confident and rich-sounding as the song progresses.
3) 4:30 Tinkled piano and rapid drumming intro, loud vocals and guitar. Catchy chord progression.
4) 5:00 Heavy guitar chords, with light strumming overlaid on top
5) 3:00 Acoustic guitar strumming with vocals. Simple and melodic. Heartbeat drum outro.
6) 4:20 No percussion until 2:40; echoed vocals, with conventional guitar work and percussion. A ballad of dysfunctional family life.
7) 4:18 A more hard rock sound to this track; heavy guitar instrumentation and strained vocals.
8) 3:55 Rapid and steady drums, calming guitar riff.
9) 3:21 Alternating between guitar and drums taking the lead, with relatively calm vocals.
10) 3:02 Acoustic guitar intro, gets ever so slightly distorted toward the end.
11) 3:08 Smooth piano, and aching vocals.
12) 3:51 Instrumental horns, bass, steady drums. Deliberate, mid-tempo.
Kyle Vandenberg

Track Listing
1.Chapel Song 7.Philadelphia (The City Of Brotherly Love)
2.Augustine 8.New Drink For The Old Drunk
3.Headlong Into The Abyss 9.Patton State Hospital
4.Book Of James 10.Strange Days
5.East Los Angeles 11.Barrel Of Leaves
6.Juarez 12.The Instrumental