Gold Leaves / Ornament, The
Album: Ornament, The   Collection:General
Artist:Gold Leaves   Added:Oct 2011
Label:Hardly Art  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-11-06 Pull Date: 2012-01-08
Week Ending: Jan 8 Jan 1 Dec 25 Dec 18 Dec 11 Nov 20 Nov 13
Airplays: 2 2 2 1 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 21, 2014: Monkey Business
4. Jan 06, 2012: Time Traveler
The Ornament
2. Apr 18, 2012: meow after midnight
The Silver Lining
5. Jan 04, 2012: meow
3. Apr 03, 2012: meow
The Silver Lining
6. Dec 30, 2011: The Songsmith Show
The Silver Lining

Album Review
Ashkan Eghtesadi
Reviewed 2011-11-16
Gold Leaves is Grant Olson's solo project, one half of the Seattle psych/folk duo Arthur & Yu. On his debut, he focuses more on the folk side of things, also blending in some orchestral pop. The record maintains the same mellow tone throughout, with only a few tracks standing out amongst others. There are melodies and harmonies abound, but there are unfortunately only a handful of moments where they're strong enough to be memorable. All tracks FCC clean. Try tracks 5, 7, 9.

1. 5:03 Warm organ, earthy male vocals. Mid-tempo, guitar/tambourine/harmony vocals. Poppy/folky.
2. 3:42 Like first song, but faster paced
3. 3:37 More folky, americana feel but still a pop song. Sounds like a song an indie band would play if they were exploring the western frontier.
4. 4:08 Continues into country/folk territory. Sounds like Fleet Foxes.
5. * 4:02 Thumping drums, acoustic & electric guitar, string section. Evocative, easy highlight.
6. 4:38 Slow paced, builds up steam halfway through. Then it slows down with guitar/piano/drums in background while vocals and echoing harmonies are in the front.
7. * 3:39 First half of song is like most of album, then wild drums appear in the background and inspire a sweet 2nd half with repeating vocals.
8. 4:03 Acoustic guitar, folky song which ends with “shoot out at end of a Western” type music.
9. * 5:00 In the same vein as track 8, this is the music that'd play at the end of a Western as the hero rides off into the sunset.

Track Listing
1. The Silver Lining   5. Cruel/Kind
2. The Ornament   6. Honeymoon
3. Endless Dope   7. The Companion
4. Hanging Window   8. Hard Feelings
  9. Futures