Big Troubles / Romantic Comedy
Album: Romantic Comedy   Collection:General
Artist:Big Troubles   Added:Oct 2011
Label:Slumberland Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-03-02 Pull Date: 2012-05-05
Week Ending: May 6 Apr 29 Apr 8 Apr 1 Mar 25 Mar 11
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. May 16, 2012: The Independent Mind
Make It Worse
4. Apr 25, 2012: The Independent Mind
She Smiles For Pictures
2. May 09, 2012: The Independent Mind (Special Guest MC KravKakes)
5. Apr 07, 2012: Pre-Easter Hullabaloo
Minor Keys
3. May 02, 2012: The Independent Mind
Minor Keys
6. Mar 30, 2012: Time Traveler

Album Review
Deniz Cebenoyan
Reviewed 2012-02-28
Big Troubles / “Romantic Comedy” / Slumberland Records

Indie poppy/rocky band. All agreeable tracks, often pretty emo - which can be good sometimes, but nothing that really stands out here. Slightly breathy light, kinda typical mid-range indie male vocals (Earlimart-ish? borderline less-original Billy Corgan at times). Most songs consist of steady midtempo beat, synth-effects laden electric guitar, slightly emo poppy tune with general catchiness but nothing that will stick too much. Still, nothing bad, all playable.

No FCCs detected.
Favorite tracks: 6, 9

1. 2:53 Mid-uptempo, big catchy pop sound from the start, like a synth ish guitar.
2. 2:23 Midtempo, basic effect-ed electric guitar sound.
3. 2:57 Midtempo, again basic slightly jangly, more vanilla Cure sound.
4. 3:44 Midtempo, a little breathier than usual, super emo chorus, almost sounds like a less nasal/plainer Billy Corgan here. Not bad. (there’s a key change, for christssake!)
5. 4:18 Slower, emo, steady slow beat, 4-note basic electric guitar melody repeated. Meh.
6. *4:28 Uptempo, catchy chorus with “oohs”, diet-Billy-Corgan voice again, emo as heck lyrics, but kinda makes me feel like it’s a 90s tune, which I like.
7. 3:39 Uptempo, basic electric guitar single note riffs again, decent.
8. 3:32 Midtempo, emo lyrics about “dancing with myself” only it’s not Billy Idol. Occasional catchy moments.
9. *2:59 Midtempo, slightly different chords, almost a slight morose, bored 90s Brit rock sound. Basic, but nice, I like it!
10. 4:08 Mid-uptempo, back to the basic sound (electric guitar, few-note-riff, breathy, etc.) Decent melody, but nothing much.

Deniz Cebenoyan

Track Listing
1. She Smiles For Pictures   6. Minor Keys
2. Misery   7. Softer Than Science
3. Make It Worse   8. Time Bomb
4. Sad Girls   9. Engine
5. You'll Be Laughing   10. Never Mine