Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Rivulets / We're Fucked
Album:We're Fucked Collection:General
Artist:Rivulets Added:Oct 2011
Label:Important Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2011-12-04 Pull Date:2012-02-05 
Week Ending:Feb 5Jan 29Jan 22Jan 8Dec 18Dec 11

 Recent Airplay
1.Apr 08, 2017:Reckless Burning (The Wasteland)
The Road / I Am
4.Feb 03, 2012:Songs: Cantan
No Talking
2.Oct 16, 2014:The Sunset Life
Come See Me, Dewayne
5.Jan 30, 2012:Ghost Trees
Interstate, Change In Your Heart
3.Feb 24, 2012:Songs: Cantan
I Don't Want To Be Found
6.Jan 24, 2012:the gilded youth

Album Review
Reviewed 2011-11-28 
Rivulets is the minimalist slowcore project of guitarist/singer-songwriter Nathan Amundson, joined on this album by a bassist and drummer. Songs are frequently based around acoustic and electric guitar, with buildups culminating in crashing guitars and cymbals appearing on a majority of tracks. Haunting vocals contribute to an often bleak but warm sound; the "bleak but warm" sound is bolstered by what seem like deeply personal lyrics.
RIYL: Mark Kozelek, Low, Jason Molina, Jessica Bailiff, slowcore/sadcore

*1 (2:01) Subdued; strummed acoustic guitar, echoing vocals
2 (3:33) Haunting, sparse electric guitar and cymbal rolls, ghostly vocals. Builds and begins crashing loudly, then concludes softly.
*3 (2:57) Really beautiful song, alternates acoustic/electric. Vocals sound like they were recorded in a church; interplay between soft and loud is outstanding
4 (1:25) Sparse, depressing; "I am coffee and cigarettes and whiskey and sleeplessness"
5 (5:32) Quiet, falsetto vocals; builds throughout its runtime
6 (2:34) Ominous, distorted electric guitar crunches and melodies; gets loud
*7 (1:44) Brooding instrumental; sounds like how the back of the case looks
8 (1:54) Quiet, pretty track about longing for someone, hints of darkness
9 (6:27) FCC fuck x2. Consistently quiet, angsty lyrics, piano touches
10 (1:37) Weird vaguely blues rock riff runs this one, guitar/cymbal crashes
11 (2:37) Vocals early, then builds into pounding drony noise
*12 (2:22) Quiet, lonely, mostly acoustic piece
13 (1:56) Pretty love song closes things off, air of optimism, ends with :10 left

Track Listing
1.Interstate 7.Dewayne
2.No Talking 8.Come See Me
3.The Road 9.Sheep Among Wolves
4.I Am 10.Souls
5.Gentile Boyfriend 11.Change In Your Heart
6.Everybody's On The Run 12.I Don't Want To Be Found
 13.This Stays True