Wooden Shjips / West
Album: West   Collection:General
Artist:Wooden Shjips   Added:Oct 2011
Label:Thrill Jockey Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-10-30 Pull Date: 2012-01-01
Week Ending: Jan 1 Dec 25 Dec 18 Dec 11 Dec 4 Nov 27 Nov 20 Nov 13
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1 3 5 6

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 16, 2023: Some Songs Without Words
4. Dec 07, 2016: Brownian Motion
2. Nov 25, 2020: Some Songs Without Words
Black Smoke Rise
5. May 05, 2016: Life Aquatic
Black Smoke Rise
3. Aug 16, 2017: The Fuzz Deli
Lazy Bones
6. Jan 08, 2015: Meow: The Best Of The Decade So Far (2010-2014).
Black Smoke Rise

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2011-10-25
Local faves, quickly becoming stalwart pillars of the SF new psyche scene drop another winner on us. Relentless beats with fuzzy guitars and soaring melodies and synths bring to mind Neu, early Stereolab, with a healthy dose of Jesus and Mary Chain, Spacemen 3. Unlike a lot of new psyche, their beats are irrepressible, in fact the last time I saw them I walked away thinking “Wooden Shjips are a dance band!”. Songs usually feature a brain melting searing soaring guitar solo. See also Moon Duo, the collaboration between the guitarist and a woman on an Alesis keyboard and various drum machines. This is all the best stuff out there right now.

1) (4:13) trademark hip grinding sex beat with some extra juicy searing guitar leads
2) (5:13) slower but still swinging, the tasty tambourine appears
3) (3:54) fast paced, almost loopy synth
4) (6:09) big head bobbing beat, slower and more hypnotic
5) (7:08) farfisa organ and fuzzy guitar with tambourine give this one an added “psyche” tone, mid paced
6) (5:57) kind of an almost silly feel, slow flanged guitars with poppy upbeat beat and organ
7) (5:09) heavy backwards masking feel, the entire track may very well be track 2 with the tape reels flipped, trippy dippy man….

Track Listing
1. Black Smoke Rise   4. Home
2. Crossing   5. Flight
3. Lazy Bones   6. Looking Out
  7. Rising