Superhuman Happiness / Physical Ep, The
Album: Physical Ep, The   Collection:General
Artist: Superhuman Happiness   Added:Nov 2011
Label: Royal Potato Family  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-01-08 Pull Date: 2012-03-11
Week Ending: Feb 26 Feb 19 Feb 12 Jan 22
Airplays: 2 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 25, 2012: Feral Pop Frenzy
Needles And Pins
4. Feb 14, 2012: AudioVault
Needles And Pins
2. Feb 22, 2012: Modern Donkey - Title Tracks
The Hounds
5. Feb 10, 2012: InAcrossAwayFromMe
The Hounds
3. Feb 15, 2012: Modern Donkey - I Want More
Needles And Pins
6. Jan 17, 2012: AudioVault
The Hounds

Album Review
Deniz Cebenoyan
Reviewed 2011-12-24
Superhuman Happiness/ “The Physical EP” / Royal Potato Family

Really solid EP – every song great in its own way. First 4 tracks are poppy, upbeat, dreamy vocals, fun stuff. Last 2 tracks are experimental instrumental soundscapes. Lots of electronic instruments and beats, layered distorted vocals. Use of horns/wind instruments common. Male vocals are pretty light, higher register, more of an accompaniment than a leading sound. First 4 tracks - though upbeat, give you an ever so slight melancholy feel – probably a product of the chord choice and dreamy feel to the vocals (sounds like longing a bit). Really neat stuff that makes you want to revisit it as soon as it’s done.
No FCCs detected. Favorites include: 1, 2, 6

1. *3:18 Strings open, uptempo beat comes in quickly, makes you want to dance though vocals + some minor chords make it not necessarily peppy.
2. *3:16 Funky percussion/beat, riffing on wind/brass instruments. No real melody, but super cool groove meets layered indie-ish vocals. Talking + instrumental at end.
3. 3:21 80s feel - loud synth drums, horns. Light echoey vocals. No FCC, but repeated “God hates you”.
4. 3:47 Whistling, bells/xylophone, dreamy vocals, sounds like upbeat longing.
5. 7:43 Instrumental. Random percussive noises, some layered ambience, mostly lead horn melody, Gets louder, builds a bit, but mostly experimenting with sounds/instruments.
6. *6:09 Instrumental. Continued ambience from previous track, lead electric guitar this time. Distortion and beat come in and out. Pretty cool. Last 7 seconds silent.
Deniz Cebenoyan

Track Listing
1. Needles And Pins   4. Oh, Tatiana
2. The Hounds   5. Surrender Pt 1
3. Gyml   6. Surrender Pt 2