Prince Rama / Trust Now
Album: Trust Now   Collection:General
Artist:Prince Rama   Added:Nov 2011
Label:Paw Tracks  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-11-20 Pull Date: 2012-01-22
Week Ending: Jan 15 Jan 8 Jan 1 Dec 25 Dec 18 Dec 11 Dec 4 Nov 27
Airplays: 3 1 2 2 2 2 2 5

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 13, 2012: Pumping Iron
Summer Of Love
4. Jan 06, 2012: maximum entropy
Golden Silence
2. Jan 10, 2012: Madame Psychosis
Summer Of Love
5. Dec 28, 2011: meow
Summer Of Love
3. Jan 10, 2012: fake orangeasm
6. Dec 27, 2011: madame psychosis
Summer Of Love

Album Review
Reviewed 2011-11-14
Brooklyn trio layer hindi vocals, psychedelia, and lots of electronic effects. There are a lot instrumentals going on in every track and these girls really like following the formula of "psych -> dance or dreampop -> dark vocals over bass drum -> dance or dreampop again." Vocals alternate between english and hindi; there's a clear Indian and LSD influence though the Indian influence is sometimes less obvious. Trakcs range from a languid and surreal feel to pop, though most tracks have a bit of it all.
I like 6,4,2. Even numbers in reverse.
RIYL: Gang Gang Dance meets Hinduism

1. High female vocals over bass drums with a melange of bells and bongos. Breaks down halfway into a single banging bass drum with swirling vocals. Builds up again
2.* Psychedelic chimes. Slow and dreamy. Fades out and re-emerges over aggressive and killer bass. Some english vocals toward the end
3. Distorted guitar drone. Relatively slow and dreamy with contrasting driving and scaling synths that slowly take over
4.* Relatively dancey and upbeat until it falls into a dark and brooding vocals, bass, and laser-effect sequence. Bouncy guitars and handclaps come to the rescue.
5. Celebratory but dreamy feel. Poppy and relatively consistent. Slowly burns itself out by the end.
6.* Fade in from previous track. Indie pop synth (reminds me of Portugal the Man). Especially high-pitched vocals on this one, with vocals and synth basically playing off each other over a swirly background. The end really rocks out

Track Listing
1. Rest In Peace   4. Portaling
2. Summer Of Love   5. Incarnation
3. Trust   6. Golden Silence