Khoury, Suhail / Al-Quds Ba'd Muntasif Al-Layl (Jerusalem After Midnight)

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-01-08 Pull Date: 2012-03-11 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Mar 4 Feb 26 Feb 19 Feb 12 Feb 5 Jan 29
Airplays: 2 2 2 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 05, 2012: Mediterraneans
Marj Ibn 'amr (Valley Of Jezreel)
4. Feb 23, 2012: Arabology
Raqs (Dance)
2. Mar 01, 2012: Arabology
Raqs (Dance)
5. Feb 21, 2012: Mediterraneans
Muhawalat Hubb (An Attempt To Love)
3. Feb 28, 2012: Mediterraneans
Marj Ibn 'amr (Valley Of Jezreel)
6. Feb 16, 2012: Arabology
Raqs (Dance)

Album Review
Abu Ramses
Reviewed 2011-11-03
Souhail Khoury, al-Quds ba‘d muntasif al-layl (Jerusalem after Midnight)
Edward Said National Conservatory of Music & Birzeit University (2009)
ALL TRACKS FCC CLEAN Reviewed by Abu Ramses

Souhail Khoury began studying clarinet at age 7 and received a BA in music from the University of Iowa. In 1985 he returned to Palestine and began teaching and directing music & dance troupes. He became a founding faculty member of the Edward Said National Conservatory of Music in 1993 and general director in 1996. Together with Israeli pianist Daniel Barenboim, Khoury is working to establish a Palestinian national orchestra.

This is Khoury’s 6th CD recorded and produced in Germany. All tracks are instrumentals composed by Khoury and arranged by Ahmad al-Khatib. Artists: Khatib (oud & buzuq, voice on 6); Nicholas Alstaedt (cello); Ibrahim Atari (qanun); Heather Bursheh (flute); Yousef Hbeish (percussion); Peter Herbert (bass); Jurgen Kersten (drums); Khoury himself (nay and clarinet and voice on 6).

Try 1, 3, 4, 7, 8

1. Marj Ibn ‘Amr (Valley of Jezreel) – melody based on folk tunes composed for a musical performed by the Funun Popular Dance Troupe – 5:54
2. Shabeh – Shabeh is a torture technique; inspired by Khoury’s 12 days of torture in Israeli prison during the first uprising (intifada) – 11:48
3. Raqs (Dance) – energetic; composed for a dance not yet performed – 3:03
4. An Attempt to Love - dedicated to his wife Rania – 4:04
5. Jerusalem after Midnight - inspired by walks in the Old City of Jerusalem –10:16
6. Nasr (Victory or ya Arab) – an ode to victory; includes human shouts – 3:47
7. Min Atleet ila al-Naqab Tahiyya (From Atlit to the Negev, Greetings) – the most accessible melody on the CD; composed in Atlit prison in 1988 - 5:55
8. Ramallah-Jerusalem and back – starts with sounds from the Qalandiyya checkpoint; ends with a laugh at the sounds of Israeli military jeeps imposing curfew – 5:05

Track Listing
1. Marj Ibn 'amr (Valley Of Jezreel)   5. Al-Quds Ba'd Muntasif Al-Layl (Jerusalem After Midnight)
2. Shabeh (Torture)   6. Nasr (Victory Or Ya Arab)
3. Raqs (Dance)   7. Min Atleet Ila Al-Naqab Tahiyya (From Atlit To The Negev, Greetings)
4. Muhawalat Hubb (An Attempt To Love)   8. Ramallah-Jerusalem And Back