Haastrup, Joni / Wake Up Your Mind
Album: Wake Up Your Mind   Collection:World
Artist:Haastrup, Joni   Added:Nov 2011
Label:Tummy Touch Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-12-04 Pull Date: 2012-02-05 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Feb 5 Jan 29 Jan 22 Jan 15 Jan 1 Dec 25 Dec 11
Airplays: 2 2 2 2 3 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 26, 2014: Fishbowl
Free My People
4. Jan 31, 2012: AudioVault
Wake Up Your Mind
2. Jul 24, 2014: The Sunset Life
5. Jan 28, 2012: At the Cafe Bohemian
Free My People
3. Feb 04, 2012: New World Disorder
Free My People
6. Jan 28, 2012: New World Disorder
Watch Out

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2011-11-23
Joni Haastrup – Wake Up Your Mind
Reviewed by Sadie O., 11/23/11
Fine 70’s Afro-funk, recorded in London in 1978 by a Nigerian vocalist. Good reminder that Fela was far from the only singer singing songs of freedom in Africa.
1. 4:55 ***midtempo Afro-funk, heavy on the bass, spoken invocation for freedom – then gets more complex beat and great soulful vocals in English. Nice!
2. 6:15 ***faraway solo vocals and musical flourishes intro, then midtempo swingy bass-heavy Disco-funk with lots of horns and wailing vocals in English.
3. 6:00 **cool, swingy-jazzy groove, breathy female backing vocals, sweet soulful vocals in English. Sharp-edged guitar solo, lots of hand percussion.
4. 6:15 **sounds of crowd going nuts for a few seconds, then upbeat Afro-funk with hyperactive bassline, vocals in English about sports stars. Nice blatty sax solo and waiting guitar.
5. 4:04 **I think the female backing vocals are imitating the O-Jays? Anyway, it’s uptempo Disco, Nigerian style.
6. 6:13 ***thundercrash, pause, then uptempo Afro-funk, vocals in English.

Track Listing
1. Free My People   4. Champions And Superstars
2. Greetings   5. Do The Funkro
3. Wake Up Your Mind   6. Watch Out