Globus / Break From This World
Album: Break From This World   Collection:General
Artist:Globus   Added:Nov 2011
Label:Imperative Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-06-16 Pull Date: 2012-08-19
Week Ending: Aug 5
Airplays: 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 02, 2012: The Conscious Soul
Save Me, Elegy

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-06-15
PICKS: 2 5 6 7 8 11 12*

EPIC: Energetic symphonic, orchestral rock. An effort by a production music company to make their tracks more accessible to the public. Globus is comprised entirely of “producers, musicians and vocalists” from Immediate Music. All tracks w/ vocals. RIYL: E.S. Posthumus, Two Steps From Hell

1 (7:36) –Starts slow, soundtrack-esque electronica, slowly transitions to more dramatic orchestral bombast (think climactic movie scene). Airy female vocals throughout. Ends with a whimper.

2 (6:05) –Very full, very symphonic, with male vocals and rock interludes scattered throughout. Sounds like the credits of a summer blockbuster.

3 (3:37) –Dramatic strings, metal, chanting, female vocals. Definitely vibes of E.S. Posthumus and intense battles.

4 (6:30) –Medley: dramatic choir cuts to intense symphonic rock with male vocals and Adhan-esque PA singing. Diverse and interesting.

5 (5:55) –A giant crescendo of a song with prominent male vocals. Fits that moment before the storm, as well as the storm itself.

6 (4:24) –Music for a grand reveal or montage of progress, followed by conflict. Latin male vocals front and center, backed by dramatic choir.

7 (4:40) –Very different song smack dab in the middle of the album. Slow melancholic folk guitar with lamenting male vocals with sparse string backing.

8 (4:12) –Very poppy. Driving rhythm with male vocals, very up in your face. Catchy.

9 (5:19) –Spy suspense music with more Middle Eastern qualities, more Adhan PA vocals.

10 (6:29) –Slow paced pop rock ballad with female vocals. Sounds like music for a series finale.

11 (7:22) –Another very different song. Peaceful piano, whistling and vocals, lyrics of space and exploration. Surprise Great Gig in the Sky vocals about 3/4 of the way through. Almost jazzy,
Cowboy Bebop quality to it. Reminiscent of Desperado by the Eagles, but slower.

12 (7:25) –Like the happy ending to a grand adventure with bittersweet lyrics. Triumphant vocals. Bagpipes! Fake ending, with slow string epilogue. Best song on the album.

Track Listing
1. The Promise   7. Manuela
2. Wyatt Earth   8. Amazing Grace
3. Doomsday   9. Black Parade
4. A Thousand Deaths   10. One Truth
5. Save Me   11. Terminal
6. In Memoriam   12. Elegy