Strange Boys / Live Music
Album: Live Music   Collection:General
Artist:Strange Boys   Added:Nov 2011
Label:Rough Trade Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-06-09 Pull Date: 2012-08-12
Week Ending: Aug 5 Jul 22 Jul 1 Jun 24 Jun 17
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 21, 2013: Home Free
Omnia Boa
4. Aug 03, 2012: The Songsmith Show
Omnia Boa
2. Apr 23, 2013: Home Free
Walking Two By Two
5. Jul 18, 2012: Meow After Midnight
Walking Two By Two
3. Aug 14, 2012: Sunshine . . . on a Meteor Shower Afternoon!
6. Jun 25, 2012: Bridal Moments
Punk's Pajamas

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2012-06-02
Rock ‘n’ roll
This Austin, TX band has whipped up a collection of songs that generally explore the more innocuous, less harsh sides of rock and blues (though near the album’s end the music gets a bit heavier). The nonaggressive, yelped vocals match the album’s relaxed, loose sound. If you like Spoon this will tickle your fancy—no coincidence, as a member of Spoon produced this album. Recommended: 2, 4, 5, 6, 7. No FCCs detected.

1. (3:12)—Bouncy major key rock ‘n’ roll featuring piano.
2. *(2:45)—Mid-tempo. Swings like idyllic old rhythm and blues. Nice harmonica solo.
3. (3:22)—Slow tempo, very funky. Pleading vocals.
4. *(3:24)—Fast tempo, approaches a mixture of punk and blues. More harmonica.
5. *(2:33)—Soft, beautiful piece featuring acoustic guitar.
6. *(3:25)—Fast, chugging rhythm and blues. Has a brief breakdown in the middle before returning to course.
7. *(3:14)—Boy, does this sound like Spoon (who of course sound like many bands who came long before them). Medium-slow tempo. Some really cool key changes. Also some neat group vocals at the end.
8. (2:45)—Slow, ambling, piano-driven. About a minute in, there’s a sudden uncharacteristically atmospheric and creepy passage.
9. (2:12)—Medium-fast tempo. Very loose playing. There’s some sax in the background.
10. (4:20)—Mid-tempo. Lush guitars, catchy wordless chorus.
11. (2:38)—Medium-slow, waltz time. Starts with a stripped down, piano driven sound, then brings in organ.
12. (5:17)—Mid-tempo. One of the heaviest, most raw songs on the album. Speeds up near the end.
13. (4:36)—Slow tempo. Continues the raw sound of the earlier couple of songs. Features piano.
14. (2:42)—Instrumental. Mid-tempo. Subdued and pretty.

Track Listing
1. Me And You   8. Saddest
2. Walking Two By Two   9. My Life Beats Me
3. Doueh   10. Over The River And Through The Woulds
4. Punk's Pajamas   11. Right Before
5. You And Me   12. Hidden Meanings
6. Omnia Boa   13. You Take Everything For Granite When You're Stone
7. Mama Shelter   14. Opus