Thee Oh Sees / Carrion Crawler/The Dream
Album: Carrion Crawler/The Dream   Collection:General
Artist:Thee Oh Sees   Added:Nov 2011
Label:In the Red Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-12-04 Pull Date: 2012-02-05
Week Ending: Feb 5 Jan 29 Jan 22 Jan 15 Jan 8 Jan 1 Dec 18 Dec 11
Airplays: 3 3 2 2 4 1 5 5

Recent Airplay
1. May 15, 2022: Lunar Echoes
Contraption/Soul Desert
4. Apr 28, 2015: Daydream Disaster
Contraption/Soul Desert
2. Jul 22, 2021: The Sunset Life (rebroadcast from Apr 10, 2013)
Contraption/Soul Desert
5. Mar 12, 2015: The Sunset Life
The Dream
3. Jun 04, 2015: The Final Sunset
Contraption/Soul Desert
6. Jan 22, 2015: A Visit From Drum
The Dream

Album Review
Reviewed 2011-11-27
SF-based garage-psych band Thee Oh Sees are back with their second release of the year; instead of detached, psych-folk-pop this one is loud, jammy, showing some heavy krautrock influences, and features the band as they perform live (two drummers included, and the rhythm section shines on every track). Big Syd Barrett influence. Indecipherable male and female vocals highlight all vocal tracks. 2 & 6 are GREAT; all the rest but 7 are recommended.
RIYL: Ty Segall, Sic Alps, Neu!, Can

1. (5:50) Slower electric guitar workout over circa '68 Pink Floyd.
***2. (5:21) Groovy, explosive combination of a live favorite (Contraption) and a Can cover (Soul Desert). One of two must-plays here.
3 (5:16) Slow, heavy, sounds like a warm breeze feels~1:15 of fade out noise.
4 (4:07) Robotic, motorized, drum/bass-centered instrumental jam; loud, heavily-effected guitar alongside it
5 (1:39) Driving pop song, sounds like it's off their album Help
****6 (6:52) Track of the year candidate. Another kraut-psych jam; guitars, vox (falsetto w/ fem backing), drums, bass are all ridiculous. Loud the whole way through but with some well-timed screams absolutely explodes at ~4:50. Plus bonus bladerunnercore organ in the background that could be played all by itself
7 (1:52) Simple guitar rhythm; warped, distorted vocals
*8 (2:53) Crunchy guitars; bridges the pop-jam gap
*9 (3:41) Heavy, foreboding, pounding drums, and all kinds of weird vocals
10 (3:07) A high ABV track; loud, big, with catchy hooks and "ah-ah-ah-ah"s

Track Listing
1. Carrion Crawler   6. The Dream
2. Contraption/Soul Desert   7. Wrong Idea
3. Robber Barons   8. Crushed Grass
4. Chem-Farmer   9. Crack In Your Eye
5. Opposition   10. Heavy Doctor