Penguin Prison / Penguin Prison
Album: Penguin Prison   Collection:General
Artist:Penguin Prison   Added:Dec 2011
Label:Downtown Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-02-12 Pull Date: 2012-04-15 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Apr 15 Apr 8 Mar 25 Mar 18 Mar 11 Mar 4 Feb 26 Feb 19
Airplays: 2 2 1 3 2 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 07, 2012: The Paint
Someone Got Everything
4. Apr 12, 2012: Nick&Noah: The Radio Show
A Funny Thing
2. May 03, 2012: Synthesis
Something I'm Not
5. Apr 12, 2012: Synthesis
Desert Cold
3. Apr 22, 2012: There and Back Again
6. Apr 06, 2012: There and Back Again
Fair Warning, In The Way

Album Review
Guest DJ Account
Reviewed 2012-02-04
Reviewer: Joy Obayemi

Upbeat electronic pop, consistently interesting beats, synthetic sound. It’s great music to just nod your head to. Lead vocalist sounds a little like Mika, except not as high pitched. The songs can get a little repetitive as the hook plays again and again with little variety. Overall, I enjoyed it, great album to just relax to if your looking for something upbeat. First song is definitely the best, which is a shame due to the fact that its riddled with FCC violations.

Overall rating: 3 out of 5 Stars
My Favorites: 1,2,8,11

1. Don’t F**k with My Money (4:11) – FCC (obvious from the title ,“f**k” is said at least twenty times) but upbeat and really great, funky 1980s vibe.
2. A Funny Thing (4:37) – Danceable beat, loving the deep vocals that align with synths
3. Golden Train (5:41) - Easy going electronic sound, nice melody that shows off singers’ voices. I was kind of just waiting for it to finally end though.
4. Multi-Millionaire (3:24) – 80s pop feel, enjoyable, very upbeat
5. Something I’m Not (4:15) - intense techno beat, cool xylophone (or some instrument of that sort…?) section around 1:20, nice subtle buildup of beats, lots of lyrical repetition.
6.The Worse it Gets (3:14) – typical techno beat, nothing particularly interesting. Ends like 7 seconds early
7. Fair Warning (4:28) – more of a focus on the vocals in this song, fast paced electro beat.
8. Desert Cold – nice vocals, great sound but I feel like I have heard the beat a million times before, cool xylophone sound again. I really love the melody. Most popular song on the album, according to online sites. Kind of reminds me of Coldplay.
9. Pinocchio (5:14) – slow buildup in first 20 seconds, eventually becomes up tempo. Same kind of sound, ends abruptly.
10. In The Way (4:05) – kind of unremarkable, nice little pop song, I found it a little repetitive. I like when the music breaks down towards the end. Ends like 8 or 9 seconds early.
11. Someone Got Everything (3:11) – easy going acoustic song, loving the variety finally. More of a focus on vocals than beat. Ends 6 seconds early.

Track Listing
1. Don't Fuck With My Money   6. The Worse It Gets
2. A Funny Thing   7. Fair Warning
3. Golden Train   8. Desert Cold
4. Multi-Millionaire   9. Pinocchio
5. Something I'm Not   10. In The Way
  11. Someone Got Everything