Gkfoes Vjgoaf / Joy Of Awakening, The
Album: Joy Of Awakening, The   Collection:General 12"
Artist:Gkfoes Vjgoaf   Added:Jan 2012
Label:Inner Islands  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-02-26 Pull Date: 2013-04-28 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Apr 14 Mar 24 Mar 3
Airplays: 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 25, 2014: Meow After Midnight
Giving Is Receiving
4. Apr 09, 2013: Home Free
2. Jun 05, 2014: Stringless Balloon
Water Voices
5. Apr 08, 2013: "no way to say" 0010
3. May 16, 2014: Overnight Fade Out
6. Mar 22, 2013: orangeasm (pt2)
Giving Is Receiving

Album Review
Reviewed 2013-02-25
Spiritual ambient/psychedelic/chillout music from Inner Islands, one of the raddest new-age “peace vibe record labels” in existence. From the artist’s statement: “The Joy of Awakening is a reflection of my new-found intimacy with the water on our planet and within us.” Use this 12” as escapist release and disappear into the shimmery fauna of another excellent landscape concocted by the “New Weird Utah” crew.


RIYL: WYLD WYZRDZ, Stag Hare, Silver Antlers, Seven Feathers Rainwater

*1. Opens with meditation bells and pattering percussion. Later melts into a strummy acoustic hum-along with serene nature sounds and blurry vocals.
2. Splashy ocean sounds, birdchips, syrupy distorted underwater guitar strumming. A bit more abstract than the rest.
*3. Plucky guitar and the sound of running water. Refreshing. My personal favorite.
4. Nighttime in a forest—bird calls, insect buzzing. Gentle flutes and guitar with smooth vocals.
*5. Strummy bluesy slide guitar with birdcalls. Go read some Gary Snyder and listen to Robert Johnson and change your life.
*6. Rainfall, ukulele, Amazon birds, echoed humming.
7. Droney, deep oms with strong harmonium riffs.

Track Listing
1. Giving Is Receiving   4. Invitation To Wander
2. Floaters   5. Samatha
3. Water Voices   6. In Clouds
  7. Blooming Deep And Wide