Kloba, Diane Marie / It Is All An Illusion
Album: It Is All An Illusion   Collection:General
Artist:Kloba, Diane Marie   Added:Oct 2013
Label:Striped Shirt  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-10-24 Pull Date: 2013-12-26
Week Ending: Nov 24 Nov 17 Nov 10
Airplays: 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 01, 2014: Meow
Oh, Wait!
4. Nov 20, 2013: 1032512
Raised By Bobcats, I Know, I Know
2. Dec 28, 2013: Meow
I Saw The Stars
5. Nov 13, 2013: Sunflower Sutra
I Saw The Stars
3. Nov 22, 2013: Fight or Flight
Oh, Wait!
6. Nov 06, 2013: Meow After Midnight
Oh, Wait!

Album Review
Reviewed 2013-10-24
Outsider new age avant-pop-rock. Jittery jarring electric guitar, female vocal stylings uncannily reminiscent of Gordon Gano. From the press sheet, you can expect sarcasm, verbal metaphors, and increased emphasis on the instrumental music, but with Kloba's trademark hopefulness shining through all of this. As a non-musician I'm not sure if the songs are remarkably simple or atheoretical; give it a play and decide for yourself.

1 (2:52) Buzzing guitar, strings, bitter ex-lover lyrics
*2 (3:25) Piano jaunt behind dark, moody song
*3 (3:10) Drawled-sung, even sneered early on, swirling synth backing
*4 (2:37) Thinkin bout the universe; happy bass sounds almost programming in its style, upbeat, choral backing vox
5 (3:15) Dark, brooding, pounding, deep backing M choral synths
6 (2:12) Moody, nature imagery. Lyric sheet says "I was raised by Bob CATS" but sadly I did not hear this lyric
7 (2:21) Plodding, rocky
8 (3:08) Psychy, chiming, love song "bare feet... painted toes... ankle bracelet... summer feet"
9 (3:29) Slower, foreboding bass and pounding drums
10 (2:49) Uplifting, staccato vox, congas, chiming guitar

Track Listing
1. Oh, Wait!   6. Raised By Bobcats
2. Men Made Of Wire   7. Midsummer Morning Rain
3. I Know, I Know   8. Summer Feet
4. I Saw The Stars   9. String Theory
5. It Is All An Illusion   10. Stratto Calling