Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Album Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Contact KZSU Music
login  (help)
Gringo Star / Sides And In Between, The
Album:Sides And In Between, The Collection:General
Artist:Gringo Star Added:11/2016
Label:Nevado Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2016-11-16 Pull Date:2017-01-18 
Week Ending:15 Jan25 Dec11 Dec4 Dec20 Nov

Recent Airplay
1.Thu, 12 Jan 17:ts porkchop
a strange pursuit
4.Thu, 08 Dec 16:ts porkchop
2.Fri, 23 Dec 16:Francis D
KZSU Time Traveler
5.Sat, 03 Dec 16:Old Fart
Old Fart at Play
3.Wed, 21 Dec 16:DJ Stace
The Library
6.Sat, 19 Nov 16:Hervey Okkles
Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles

Album Review
Mr. Tumnus
Reviewed 2016-12-03 
Psych rock/psych folk. At their best, these guys have a bizarro country vibe; at their worst, kind of a punchless pop one. Lots of psychedelic accents and tropes, but the lead singer’s nasal voice has a way of cutting through the clutter. Lyrics can be forgettable, but some of the instrumental sections are neat. The whole thing has kind of a vintage aesthetic, like it was made on cassettes before I was born.

Recommended: 1, 4

1) “Rotten” (2:52): Nice movement in the guitar, and good decisive start.
2) “Magic” (3:10): “Magic / it’s magic...” It’s OK.
3) “Get Closer” (3:27): Summery song, upbeat. Guitars jangle.
4) “Still Alive” (3:00): More of a bizarro country vibe, which I think plays to their strengths. Picking around on the high end of the guitar.
5) “Going Home” (3:00): Synth and whistling touches.
6) “Knee Deep” (3:41): Growling on the low end, picking on the high end. More folky. Strings add some drama at the end.
7) “Heading South” (3:09): Voices a bit dirtier, like they’re being filtered through an old-time radio.
8) “Undone” (3:15): Emphatic whistling, and lots of plinking on the piano. Singer is particularly nasal here.
9) “It’s You” (1:48): Chorus droning in the background--sultrier.
10) “The Last Trace” (2:04): Very straightforward poppy song without too much punch.

--Mr Tumnus

Track Listing
1.Rotten 6.Knee Deep
2.Magic 7.Heading South
3.Get Closer 8.Undone
4.Still Alive 9.It's You
5.Going Home 10.The Last Trace