Parramore, Jimmy / Un Coup De Foudre Pour Françoise
Album: Un Coup De Foudre Pour Françoise   Collection:General
Artist:Parramore, Jimmy   Added:Mar 2012

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-11-11 Pull Date: 2013-01-13

Album Review
Guest DJ Account
Reviewed 2012-10-24
Jimmy Parramore / Un Coup de Foudre Pour Françoise
Cinematic francophone jazz.
In this album Jimmy Parramore, backed by a full jazz ensemble and a string quartet, alternates between melancholic and upbeat tracks. The album is dedicated to his late French wife, Françoise, which is why most of the vocals are in French. Throughout the
album, Parramore retraces his life with Françoise and expresses his current grief. The use of strings prevails in the entire album, which gives it a cinematic feel, and helps create a very melancholic atmosphere in most songs. Paired with his unusual raspy vocal style, these musical eulogies are usually very effective in conveying the lyricist’s deep sorrow. Parramore’s more cheerful vocals, fast paced and lively, are usually accompanied by an acoustic guitar, and are reminiscent of Georges Brassens. Overall, a very complete and diverse set of moods, instruments and vocals.

1* Un Coup de Foudre - Melancholic strings and guitar. Soft sounding and slow paced. French vocals. (3:38)
2 Un Congé Conjugal - More upbeat tempo. Great saxophone melodies for instrumental portions of the track. French vocals. (3:33)
3 Au Rendez-vous des Artistes - Acoustic guitar sets the jumpy and cheerful mood of track. Periodic strings and xylophone. French vocals. (3:33)
4 A Rainbow of Lovers - Interesting use of dramatic themes in intro/outro. Rest of track has an upbeat mood. Occasional harmonica paired up with Parramore’s voice. French and English vocals. (3:52)
5 Can’t Dance With a Tombstone - Melancholic/cinematic melodies. Great violin accompaniment to Parramore’s voice. English vocals. (3:21)
6 La Fille de Poche - Saxophone interweaved with French vocals. Cheerful recurrent combination of xylophone and strings.(4:12)
7* Don’t Ask My Name - Slow paced love song. Additional vocals by Constance
Jeanjaquet. Great melancholic saxophone solo. English vocals. (4:20)
8 Pour Une Autre Fois - Short upbeat track paced by a pleasant and recurrent piano theme. French vocals. (2:16)
9 Que Sera Sa Vie - Relaxing track with intermittent saxophone with background strings. French vocals. (4:11)
10 J’Suis Crevé - Lounge-like feel. Slow paced with accompanying piano. French Vocals. (3:04)
11 La Terre a Disparu - Dreamy atmosphere for this track. Interesting cinematic string instrumental portions. French vocals. (3:13)
12 Don’t Be Good - Traditional jazz-sounding track (with more strings). Great saxophone echo to Parramore’s vocals. English vocals. (3:27)


Track Listing
1. Un Coup De Foudre   7. Don't Ask My Name
2. Un Congé Conjugal   8. Pour Une Autre Fois
3. Au Rendez-Vous Des Artistes   9. Que Sera Sa Vie
4. A Rainbow Of Lovers   10. J'suis Crevé
5. Can't Dance With A Tombstone   11. La Terre A Disparu
6. La Fille De Poche   12. Don't Be Good