Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Album Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Contact KZSU Music
login  (help)
Browning, Zack With The Sonata Islands Quartet / Soul Doctrine
Album:Soul Doctrine Collection:General
Artist:Browning, Zack With The Sonata Islands Quartet Added:10/2018
Label:Innova Recordings 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2018-11-04 Pull Date:2019-01-06 Charts:Classical/Experimental
Week Ending:6 Jan23 Dec2 Dec18 Nov

Recent Airplay
1.Sat, 05 Jan 19:Eme O
Music Casserole
4.Sat, 01 Dec 18:kim the friendly acupuncturist
Audio Ambrosia
2.Thu, 03 Jan 19:Kimbelina
oatmeal for lunch
5.Sat, 17 Nov 18:Eme O
Music Casserole
3.Fri, 21 Dec 18:Old Fart
Old Fart at Play

Album Review
Tom McCarter
Reviewed 2018-10-29 
Reviewed: 2018-10-29
Genre: Classical (X)
FCCs: none
Review: Browning employs Chinese magic squares, feng shui, astrology, and historical quotes to construct a spiritual world of melodic patterns and harmonic spirals — all interwoven with a corporeal world of rock-inspired, driving rhythms. Time appears frozen, restructured, and propelled forward by applying esoteric workings to the birth dates of performers, musical visionaries, and dates of political events. But the effect on the listener is to entangle them joyfully in vigorous syncopations of vibrant musical material.
If You Like: Ian Anderson, Kronos Quartet
Track Review (favorites denoted by *):
1/ Soul Doctrine (9:25) - piano starts> uptempo rocking jam morphs into a series of movements in different tempos & melodies> quick stop
*2/ Silent Crackdown (10:00) - piano starts> slow duet with sax builds to midtempo, then swings back & forth between slow & uptempo> quick stop
*3/ Flute Soldier (8:29) – flute starts> midtempo duet with piano>shifting tempos> quick stop
*4/ Unafraid (12:51) – flute starts> slow jam with sax & piano swings to fast tempo> tempo shifts several times> quick stop
5/ Rock Furious (10:27) – flute/electric guitar start in unison> slow jam swings uptempo then shifts in tempo & melody several times> quick stop

Track Listing
1.Soul Doctrine 3.Flute Soldier
2.Silent Crackdown 4.Unafraid
 5.Rock Furious