Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
A-File
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Albero, Marina / A Life Soundtrack
Album:A Life Soundtrack Collection:Jazz
Artist:Albero, Marina Added:02/2020
Label:Self Release 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2020-02-26 Pull Date:2020-07-22 Charts:Jazz
Week Ending:15 Mar8 Mar1 Mar
Airplays:221

 Recent Airplay
1.Mar 12, 2020:Old fart At Play
(Disc 3) My Favorite Things
4.Mar 03, 2020:Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
I Thought I Knew
2.Mar 10, 2020:Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
(Disc 2) Overture, Greek Dance, The Sweetness of the Edge
5.Feb 27, 2020:Old Fart At Play
To Be Continued, Indian Jam
3.Mar 05, 2020:Old Fart At Play
The Sweetness of the Edge

Album Review
Tom McCarter
Reviewed 2020-02-17 
Reviewed: 2020—02-17
Genre: Jazz
FCCs: none
Review: On this ambitious 3-CD self-release, pianist Albero gathers a group of talented musicians to chart her life transitions. She also plays a psalterium (track 2). The music is vibrant & constantly changing. Discs 1 & 2 are all originals and disc 3 contains some covers with interesting arrangements. Each disc has a theme.
If You Like: Hiromi, Yelena Eckemoff, Geri Allen, Julia Hulsmann
Track Review (favorites denoted by *):
Disc 1 - Albero
**1/ Mi Secreto (6:50) – bass starts> slow song builds to midtempo> slow fade
**2/ Greek Dance (6:45) – psalterium starts slow swings into uptempo jam> chorus joins> female singer joins & music fades
*3/ Cardomomo (6:45) – piano starts> swings into uptemp jam, then fast tempo> quick stop
4/ Baile Corrido (2:02) – spoken intro> trumpet starts> uptempo jam with trumpet up front> quick stop
5/ Tarda d’Estiu (0:29) – short piano solo
6/ Mon Pou (4:40) – piano starts> midtempo jam with piano trio> quick stop
*7/ Indian Jam (7:17) – scat singing starts> violin joins> then table> midtempo jam swings uptempo> crescendo & fade
**8/ K’Antiga (4:11) – piano starts> swings to uptempo jam> quick stop
9/ Prelude To Agartha (6:04) – crowd noises & blurted vocal starts> piano builds into midtempo jam with piano trio> fade
*10/ Agartha (5:00) – scat singing with male vocal starts & becomes a rap song> chorus joins> uptempo jam & song> quick fade on vocal
Disc 2 - Agua
*11/ Overture (6:47) – piano solo starts midtempo & swings uptempo, shifting back & forth> fade
*12/ Agua Clara (4:26) – piano solo starts heavy> shifts between midtempo & slow> slow fade
13/ Indiana (3:37) – piano solo starts with a flurry of notes> midtempo swings uptempo> quick stop
*14/ Interlude (4:59) – sax starts> slow tempo jam> quick stop
15/ Not Quite Yet (5:34) – piano starts heavy & hesitating> slow solo> quick stop
16/ Superionic (1:51) – piano starts> slow duet with sax> quick stop
*17/ Cotracorrirnte (4:43) – piano starts> uptempo solo mellows to slow, then builds to crescendo & fade
18/ Nana Del Mar (4:14) – piano starts> slow duet with sax> fade
*19/ To Be Continued (3:30) – piano starts> midtempo solo builds in volume & intensity> pause> slow solo swings to uptempo & swinging> mellows to fade
Disc 3 - Music Is Love
**20/ My Favorite Things (5:03) – piano starts hard> midtempo solo swings into uptempo duet with percussion> fade
*21/ Calma/ Impressions Intimes l (5:17) – piano starts> gorgeous solo shifts into a different melody with shifting tempos> fade
***22/ I Thought I Knew (7:10) – piano starts> midtempo solo builds in volume, then subsides, like waves of sound> uptempo duet with flute builds to fast tempo with bass & drums> crescendo end
*22/ Nardis (6:45) – bass starts> slow tempo jam builds to midtempo> quick stop
23/ Unexpected You (4:04) – piano starts> slow jam builds to midtempo> slow fade
*24/ Mompou In Blue (4:40) – piano starts slow, swings into midtempo jam> crescendo end
**25/ 19 y 42 (3:09) – piano starts uptempo> uptempo jam> quick stop
***26/ The Sweetness Of The Edge (8:12) – piano starts, swings into uptempo solo, then mellows> duet with sax morphs into uptempo jam> crescendo end
**27/ What is This Thing Called Love (5:02) – female vocal starts with bass> slow song builds to midtempo> piano joins, swings into uptempo jam> uptempo song> quick stop
*28/ Music Is Love (3:51) – sax starts> midtempo jam> chorus joins> crescendo end

Track Listing
1.(Disc 1) Mi Secreto 15.Not Quite Yet
2.Greek Dance 16.Superionic
3.Cardomono 17.Contraorriente
4.Baile Corrido 18.Nana Del Mar
5.Tarda D'estiu 19.To Be Continued
6.Mon Pou 20.(Disc 3) My Favorite Things
7.Indian Jam 21.Calma/impressions Intimes
8.K' Antiga 22.I Thought I Knew
9.Prelude to Agartha 23.Nardis
10.Agartha 24.Unexpected You
11.(Disc 2) Overture 25.Mompou in Blue
12.Agua Clara 26.19 X 42
13.Indiana 27.The Sweetness of the Edge
14.Interlude 28.What Is This Thing Called Love
 29.Music Is Love