Liyou, Lucy / Cadaver Opening If You Just
Album: Cadaver Opening If You Just   Collection:General
Artist:Liyou, Lucy   Added:Oct 2022

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2023-02-17 Pull Date: 2023-04-21 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Apr 16 Mar 12 Mar 5 Feb 19
Airplays: 1 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 12, 2023: Virtually Happy
I. For Piano
4. Mar 02, 2023: Traditions
V. For Piano
2. Mar 11, 2023: Music Casserole
III. For Two Pianos and Voice
5. Feb 28, 2023: Virtually Happy
III. For Two Pianos and Voice
3. Mar 04, 2023: Music Casserole
II. For Piano
6. Feb 18, 2023: Music Casserole
II. For Piano

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2023-01-22
LOCAL! A piano-and-voice suite from Lucy Liyou, who is based in San Francisco. Their piano playing here is stunningly fluid and rich, and they take their vocal work to daringly candid lengths. (They've experimented with text-to-speech on previous releases.) Formally spare but packed with ideas and containing a vast emotional range. RIYL claire rousay, Bjork, Klein, Billy Strayhorn, Full Spectrum Records. 2 and 5 are great places to start. FCC WARNING: 4.

1. (3:22)—Solo piano. Complex and dissonant, starts gentle and slow but gets loud and staccato.
2. *(4:12)—Solo piano. Again slow and serene to begin, but mostly remains that way.
3. (3:54)—Piano and voice. Tumultuous, cathartic, with soft near-shrieking.
4. (3:06)—FCC (piss). Piano and three spoken vocal tracks going at the same time, creating a feeling of urgency.
5. *(2:47)—Solo piano. Romantic and pulsing, nocturnal.

Track Listing
1. I. For Piano   3. III. For Two Pianos and Voice
2. II. For Piano   4. IV. For Piano and Three Voices
  5. V. For Piano