Big Harp George / Cut My Spirit Loose
Album: Cut My Spirit Loose   Collection:Blues
Artist:Big Harp George   Added:Apr 2023
Label:Blues Mountain Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2023-05-14 Pull Date: 2023-07-16 Charts: Blues
Week Ending: Jun 25 Jun 18 May 21
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 24, 2024: No One Gets out of these Blues Alive
Behind the Eight Ball
4. Jun 22, 2023: Traditions
My Dog Is Better Than You
2. Jul 22, 2023: Hanging In The Boneyard
It's Tuesday
5. Jun 17, 2023: Music Casserole
Captain Jack
3. Jul 21, 2023: soul street
She's a Woman
6. May 20, 2023: Music Casserole
Captain Jack

Album Review
Byrd Hale
Reviewed 2023-04-21
fully formed chromatic harmonica master, singer, songwriter & band leader. exploring a wide range of musical styles with an "A" list of veteran bay area musicians. 90% original material.
1)blues shouting over driving jump blues guitar & horn interplay w/ backup vocals
2) punchy horns & stinging guitar over straight ahead boogaloo march
3) old timey lazy crawl with crying horns
4) short slow intro into bouncy melodic instrumental second line march
5) up dated beatles cover in 1960's boogaloo style
6) good time boogie stroll with multi backup vocals
7) snappy bouncin' swingin' instrumental with vocal refrain
8) easy swinging vocal-horn interplay
9) multi layered boogaloo march with vocals
10) classic "dark blue" slow drag
11) contemporary social justice lyrics over acoustic harp & guitar with moaning backup vocals
12) horn-drenched sweet R&B ballad instrumental
13)spoken/vocal with dark blues piano, moving horns w/ flute & haunting backup vocals ALA christo redentor

Track Listing
1. It's Tuesday   7. Jump Abu Lula!
2. Pile Driving Sam   8. Prince of Downward Mobility
3. Give Me the Dark   9. Ranty Town
4. Bustin' Out   10. Behind the Eight Ball
5. She's a Woman   11. Take a Knee
6. My Dog Is Better Than You   12. Sunrise Stroll
  13. Captain Jack