Eluvium / (Whirring Marvels In) Consensus Reality
Album: (Whirring Marvels In) Consensus Reality   Collection:General
Artist:Eluvium   Added:Aug 2023
Label:Temporary Residence Ltd.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2023-12-10 Pull Date: 2024-02-11
Week Ending: Jan 21 Jan 14 Dec 31 Dec 24 Dec 17
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 16, 2024: Music Casserole
Vibration Consensus Reality (For Spectral Multiband Resonator)
4. Feb 17, 2024: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Void Manifest
2. Mar 02, 2024: Music Casserole
5. Feb 17, 2024: Music Casserole
Void Manifest, A Floating World of Demons
3. Mar 01, 2024: Lost Civilization
Vibration Consensus Reality (For Spectral Multiband Resonator)
6. Jan 20, 2024: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Phantasia Telephonics, Swift Automatons

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2023-08-20
Neoclassical music with orchestra, synths, piano, and ambient textures. Portland composer Matthew Cooper, who's been working under this name for twenty years, is moving away from his earlier mysterious dronescapes toward something more compositionally refined but still dramatic. As on his noisy and maximal 2016 record False Readings On, technology-driven anxiety and discord inspired the music here. But this music is pretty and melody-driven throughout, even when the layers get dense. RIYL Philip Glass (and Koyaanisqatsi), Nils Frahm, Max Richter, Ólafur Arnalds, A Winged Victory for the Sullen. Favorites: 3, 4, 7, 10. Almost entirely instrumental, no FCCs detected.

1. (1:37)—Mechanical clock sounds, slow anticipatory string swells.
2. (2:37)—Staccato high strings, punchy piano. Nice drone textures.
3. *(8:01)—Soft bubbling synths, slow deep strings. Faster, pointillistic strings build tension.
4. *(3:34)—Heavily processed sounds of distant voices. Solo bass clarinet with string accompaniment.
5. (5:55)—Medium-fast Philip Glass-esque arpeggios, big sci-fi synths. Long disintegrating ending.
6. (2:30)—Organ/harmonium drone, soft sawing violin. Deep piano, a flash of spoken word.
7. *(4:11)—Heavily manipulated voice, swelling strings, soprano. Intense.
8. (2:16)—Fragile solo piano, reprise of track 5.
9. (3:43)—Medium-fast, with high strings and a subtle chugging bass rhythm. Noise builds then cuts out suddenly.
10. *(3:04)—Slow, melancholy piano chords. High drones. Remains soft throughout.
11. (3:46)—Mid-tempo, lockstep piano and strings, dense synths and (near the end) percussion. Gentle ending.

Track Listing
1. Escapement   6. The Violet Light
2. Swift Automatons   7. Void Manifest
3. Vibration Consensus Reality (For Spectral Multiband Resonator)   8. Clockwork Fables
4. Scatterbrains   9. Mass Lossless Interbeing
5. Phantasia Telephonics   10. A Floating World of Demons
  11. Endless Flower