Kourtesis, Sofia / Madres
Album: Madres   Collection:A-File
Artist:Kourtesis, Sofia   Added:Nov 2023
Label:Ninja Tune  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2023-11-09 Pull Date: 2024-01-11 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Nov 26 Nov 19
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 22, 2023: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Si Te Portas Bonito
2. Nov 15, 2023: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Si Te Portas Bonito

Album Review
Reviewed 2023-11-09
Debut full-length from electronic (mostly house) producer and singer Sofia Kourtesis. A bouncy, joyous, sophisticated release that perfectly blends her Peruvian roots with her current home of Berlin, or as she puts it: "my heart is very Latin American, but my motor is German.” Lyrics mostly in Spanish with a bit of English. Highly recommended. FCC Clean. TRY: 2, 3, 1, 4
RIYL: Logic1000, Kelela, Daphni, Elkka, TSHA, DJ Koze, Axel Boman

1. Hypnotic, lush house with beautiful vocals
2. Slick, skippy, clubby, with a catchy chorus
3. Moving tribute track to her mother’s life-saving doctor. Metallic minimal beat with sci-fi flourishes
4. 90’s tinged, a bit ravey with a chopped breakbeat
5. Beautiful lilty deep house track with a touch of jazz
6. Dubby, funky house
7. Chopped up vocal samples, a slow somber washy beat
8. Xylophone-led beat with washed-out vocals, jazzy elements and chirping birds. So cool
9. Uptempo, percussion-forward
10. Floaty house with chanted vocal samples and a touch of horns
11. Shorter edit of track #2
12. Shorter edit of track #3
13. Shorter edit of track #4

Track Listing
1. Madres   7. Moving Houses
2. Si Te Portas Bonito   8. Estación Esperanza
3. Vajkoczy   9. Cecilia
4. How Music Makes You Feel Better   10. El Carmen
5. Habla Con Ella   11. Si Te Portas Bonito (Radio Edit)
6. Funkhaus   12. Vajkoczy (Radio Edit)
  13. How Music Makes You Feel Better (Radio Edit)