Solar Dynasty / One Day Of Brahma
Album: One Day Of Brahma   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Solar Dynasty   Added:Feb 2012
Label:(No Label Information)  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-05-26 Pull Date: 2012-07-29 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jul 29 Jul 22 Jul 15 Jul 1 Jun 17
Airplays: 1 2 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 24, 2012: Rebop
4. Jul 11, 2012: The Mongrel's Stoop
2. Jul 18, 2012: maximum entropy
5. Jun 26, 2012: Pumping Iron
3. Jul 17, 2012: Rebop
6. Jun 26, 2012: Rebop

Album Review
librae jackson
Reviewed 2012-05-21
No lyrics; no FCC issues. Song lengths posted on hard copy of review (physical cd).

This is obviously an improvisational recording, which, based upon the instruments used, will likely be filed under the Jazz category. But whether or not to call it Jazz, is a decision that can be left up to the listener. The way that the clarinet is played gives the music an Indian or Middle Eastern-sounding tinge. By the titles of the tracks, that seems to be the motif that the musicians were aiming for.

On all 4 tracks, notes are flying all over the place, but in the midst of the chaos, there is some uniformity. The musicians are on the same page, as far as what they’re trying to accomplish. The noise has consistency…..but it is noise, nonetheless. If Jazz and Metal were to meet for coffee, this sound might be the result.

1. Satya – Very long percussion intro (of mostly cymbals), followed by electric bass, tenor sax and clarinet contributing together at 1:07 mark. Then a violent exchange of notes ensues, throughout the duration, as all four musicians play ferociously, leaving the listener to wonder if they’re playing with, or against, each other. I can’t help but think of this as the musical equivalent of a battle royale (wrestling fans get the reference).

2. Treta - Another long intro (1:07), this time with all of the instruments playing their parts with a more focused fervor, as if to unleash something very special out of the gate. But then, it’s more of the same discordance that was heard in track 1.

3. Duapara - This track immediately opens with the lovely sound of the tenor sax. Then, 12 seconds into it, the clarinet joins in. The two sounds together hint at the possibility of something harmonious. But that thought is abruptly dismissed at the 0:24 mark, where the instruments again collide for the remainder of the track, with no apparent rhyme or reason.

4. Kali – This final track fades in, and almost sounds like it could be a continuation of the other songs. In fact, the whole project sounds less like 4 distinct pieces of music, and more like one long jam session (perhaps heavy on the session….light on the jam).

Librae Jackson

Track Listing
1. Satya   3. Duapara
2. Treta   4. Kali