Well Wishers, The / Dreaming Of The West Coast
Album: Dreaming Of The West Coast   Collection:General
Artist:Well Wishers, The   Added:Feb 2012

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-06-16 Pull Date: 2012-08-19
Week Ending: Aug 19 Aug 5 Jul 22 Jul 15 Jul 8 Jul 1 Jun 24
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 16, 2012: QuestionAir
Now And Then
4. Jul 11, 2012: Meow After Midnight
Truth Is Coming Home
2. Aug 03, 2012: Time Traveler
Here Comes Love
5. Jul 10, 2012: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
3. Jul 19, 2012: A Mind Redefined
Mother Nature
6. Jul 06, 2012: Time Traveler
Here Comes Love

Album Review
Deniz Cebenoyan
Reviewed 2012-06-10
Well Wishers / “Dreaming of the West Coast” / That Was My Skull Music (BMI)

You had me at “RIYL Nada Surf” (naturally), but this is way more power pop. High register male vocals, with slight nasal nerd-tinge. Super poppy rock. Catchy, head boppin, good stuff. Nothing super novel, but all solid tracks. Listening to the whole album, some songs start sounding the same. But some have the dramatic flair I kind of love. Playing one on your show will definitely pep things up and offend no one.

FCC - 9
Favorites: 2, 4, 10, 12
Individual tracks reviewed inside.

1. 3:33 Poppy poppy poppy. Jangly guitars, familiar chords – could be a Matthew Sweet song.
2. *3:18 Upbeat, catchy, toe-tappin. “woohoo”s and jangly chords.
3. 4:36 Uptempo, sunny, longing, rocky distorted guitars.
4. *3:54 Killer verse, catchy, pained, awesome. Chorus a bit plain, but great overall.
5. 2:36 Steady piano mid beat, think forlorn nerd. Kind of like nasal Ben Folds.
6. 3:49 Super sunny pop-rock (title is “Here Comes Love”), I think there’s even a tambourine!!
7. 3:28 Pretty standard uptempo pop rock.
8. 2:12 Catchy, standard, decent. Cover of a The Smoke song.
9. 3:32 FCC – “shit”,“fucking”. Frenetic, punkier sound.
10. *3:42 Quick strum guitar, harmonized vocals, dramatic/pained, kinda great.
11. 3:12 Upbeat jangly, chorus pretty catchy, but doesn’t stand out too much.
12. *4:03 Solid distorted guitar background. Kind of epic guitar wailings and layered vocals to end. Nice! Last 40sec - fades out, fades back in.
Deniz Cebenoyan

Track Listing
1. Escape The Light   7. Free? No
2. Now And Then   8. Have Some More Tea
3. Allison   9. All I Got
4. Tonight   10. Truth Is Coming Home
5. Nothing Ever Changes Around Here   11. Honoree
6. Here Comes Love   12. Mother Nature