Galactic / Carnivale Electricos
Album: Carnivale Electricos   Collection:General
Artist:Galactic   Added:Mar 2012
Label:Anti- / Epitaph  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-03-10 Pull Date: 2012-05-12
Week Ending: May 13 May 6 Apr 29 Apr 22 Apr 15 Apr 8 Mar 25 Mar 18
Airplays: 1 2 2 2 1 3 3 5

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 05, 2020: Galactic Travel Radio
Carnivale Time
4. May 23, 2017: That's Not Bluegrass.
2. Oct 17, 2018: Goggles Optional
Ha Di Ka
5. Feb 24, 2017: Road Trip
Ash Wednesday Sunrise, Hey Na Na
3. Aug 29, 2018: Goggles Optional
Ha Di Ka
6. Jan 20, 2017: Road Trip
Out In The Street, Voyage Ton Flag

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2012-03-07
Galactic – Carnivale Electronicos
Reviewed by Sadie O., 3/7/12
Awesome N’awlins Funk with lots of electronics and big sound. Great guest vocalists from both the Big Easy and Brazil. Despite lots of electronica, there’s a strong second line feel throughout. Funky as mess, but leaning a bit more to loudness than to hip hop, as their last record seemed to do. Every track is better’n beignets, but track 7 has a single FCC, and track 10 is even better than crazy good.
1. 3:29 ***big drums, loudspeaker vocals and chants, funky midtempo electronica with bon ton voodoo, electric guitar and piano. No doubt it’s a party!
2. 3:33 ***a bit downtempo but high energy proper R&B funk, male and female vocals. SERIOUSLY funky.
3. 3:27 ***electronics and drumline snares, vocals in Brazilian Portuguese. Unexpectedly pretty guitar bit.
4. 3:05 ***somewhat downtempo electronic funky Zydeco-glitch (!) Interesting mashup of trad with ultramodern.
5. 3:28 ***downtempo country-funk with Cyril Neville. A bit relaxed, nice horn section and chorus.
6. 1:23 ***serious drums and percussion. Uptempo funky instrumental, slinky horns. Wish it was longer!
7. 3:10 FCC: “shit” ***downtempo relaxed super-funky strut. Gruff hip hop vocals.
8. 3:35 ***big drums, big horns, courtesy of a high school marching band. Instrumental, top stuff. These kids kick butt and don’t bother taking names!
9. 0:57 ***lots of percussion, cuica and harmonica, funky and goofy instrumental.
10. 3:18 ****different lots of percussion, funky guitar and vocals (remake of the singer’s old hit.) Big, fat and sweeet!
11. 3:29 ***funky tom and tuba blats, then lovely but menacing slinky instrumental crawl. Gnarly!
12. 2:43 ***Brazilian percussion and funk, pretty vocals in Brazilian Portuguese. Serious trumpet.
13. 3:38 ***downbeat and downtempo, keyboards and handclaps, a bit churchical – although the big electric marching things keep busting in and partying every so often.

Track Listing
1. Ha Di Ka   7. Move Fast
2. Hey Na Na   8. Karate
3. Magalenha   9. Guero Bounce
4. Voyage Ton Flag   10. Carnivale Time
5. Out In The Street   11. Attack
6. Julou   12. O Côco Da Galinha
  13. Ash Wednesday Sunrise