Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Sedition Ensemble / Regeneration Report:
Album:Regeneration Report: Collection:General
Artist:Sedition Ensemble Added:05/2012
Label:Sol Re Sol 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2012-07-15 Pull Date:2012-09-16 
Week Ending:2 Sep22 Jul

Recent Airplay
1.Fri, 26 Sep 14:MC Dizzy Jackson
The Songsmith Show Finale
4.Fri, 14 Jun 13:MC Dizzy Jackson
The Songsmith Show
2.Fri, 20 Jun 14:MC Dizzy Jackson
The Songsmith Show
5.Sat, 01 Sep 12:Uncle Steve
School's Out!
3.Fri, 17 Jan 14:MC Dizzy Jackson
The Songsmith Show
6.Fri, 31 Aug 12:MC Dizzy Jackson
The Songsmith Show

Album Review
MC Dizzy Jackson
Reviewed 2012-07-08 
Re-issue of only release by Sedition Ensemble from 1981, formed by Ed Montgomery in San Francisco. It is funk. It is jazz. It is Latin. It is Robbie McCauley penning the heavy political, topical and in-your-face, telling-it-as-it-is lyrics, then unleashing them upon us with her strong and beautifully lived-in voice. Lineup includes Bern Nix on guitar (Ornette Coleman), Melvin Gibbs on bass (Defunkt, Rollins Band), Ben Bierman on horns (many Latin greats), Bob DeMeo on drums (Jackie Byard), Valois Mickens and Crystal Joy helping out on vocals. Prepare yourselves - this is the Serious Shit!! No FCC’s.

*My Favorites*: All. Damn straight.

1. (4:15) Mid. Percussion and horns drive it, McCauley speaks it.
2. (6:53) Mid. Free-jazz-ish, spoken and sung lyrics tell it straight, funky struttin’.
3. (4:31) Slow. Down-tempo bluesy, jazzy vibe w/ horn, sticks-on-rims, guitar. Wow.
4. (5:45) Slow / Mid. Male vocal. Funky, jazzy. Great bass, horn, guitar, plodding beat. Gets maddening. Killer.
5. (3:35) Mid. Ultra funkiness, horns ablaze, cool guitar and bass. Hip.
6. (6:23) Slow / Mid. Late-night jazzy start - brushes, sax, bass. Gets moving w/ percussion and horns. Biting lyrics start halfway through.
7. (5:06) Mid. Funky, jazzy, great vocal phrasing. Horns and bass shine.
8. (3:55) Mid. Funky free-ish jazz w/ horns, guitar, percussion, unique vocal delivery.

Track Listing
1.Regeneration Report 5.Tax
2.Random Collisions 6.Prison Poem And La Guerra Popular
3.Numbered Blues 7.Digression On Triangles
4.Duality/Contradiction 8.Inside/Outside