Harrison, George / Early Takes, Volume 1
Album: Early Takes, Volume 1   Collection:General
Artist:Harrison, George   Added:May 2012

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-05-19 Pull Date: 2012-07-22
Week Ending: Jul 15 Jul 8 Jul 1 Jun 24 Jun 17 Jun 10 Jun 3 May 27
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 08, 2023: Stop Making Sense
I'd Have You Any Time (Early Take)
4. Feb 10, 2019: Music Genealogy
Mama You've Been On My Mind (Demo)
2. Jan 07, 2022: Summer Session (rebroadcast from Jul 4, 2012)
Mama You've Been On My Mind (Demo), I'd Have You Any Time (Early Take)
5. Apr 23, 2017: Rock of Ages
My Sweet Lord (Demo)
3. May 24, 2019: Traditions - Bob Dylan's birthday
Mama You've Been On My Mind (Demo)
6. Nov 24, 2015: Clean Copper Radio
The Light That Has Lighted The World (Demo)

Album Review
MC Dizzy Jackson
Reviewed 2012-05-17
Songs taken from Martin Scorsese’s doc George Harrison: Living In The Material World. These early takes and demos are a testament to Harrison’s masterful lyrics (save a couple covers) and soulful sounds - before they made their way to official releases, and are just as, and in most cases, more powerful. Most have spoken intros. One of the great ‘pre-release‘ collections you’ll find. Every song is stellar. No FCC’s.

*My Favorites*: All.

1. (3:34) Mid. Takes a few measures to get in tempo. A bit rough, yet still powerful, even w/o the classic slide guitar.
2. (1:56) Mid. Sparse and quiet, just acoustic guitar and vocal. Nice.
3. (3:06) Slow / Mid. Co-written w/ Bob Dylan. Fairly close to album release, w/ Clapton on elec. guitar. Spoken outro.
4. (3:05) Slow / Mid. Dylan song. Beautiful w/ backing vocals, acoustic guitar and minimal elec. guitar.
5. (2:56) Slow. Cover song done by many over the years. This treatment is heavenly w/ backing vocals and steel guitar.
6. (2:44) Mid. Killer bluesy number with jaw harp, acoustic guitar played down ‘n’ dirty. Great vocal delivery.
7. (2:41) Mid / Fast. Full band w/ staccato phrasings. Rockin’ with great lyrics. Spoken outro.
8. (3:29) Mid. Said to be written w/ Dylan in mind, it’s another beautiful tune w/ great pedal steel played by Pete Drake (‘Lay, Lady, Lay’, Charlie Rich’s ‘Behind Closed Doors’, etc).
9. (4:40) Mid. Harrison classic ‘All Things Must Pass’. W/o the horns and steel guitar, this version is, perhaps, even more powerful. Ends a bit abruptly.
10. (2:23) Slow. Sparse, hymn-like piece w/ incredible lyrics. Sublime.

Track Listing
1. My Sweet Lord (Demo)   6. Woman Don't You Cry For Me (Early Take)
2. Run Of The Mill (Demo)   7. Awaiting On You All (Early Take)
3. I'd Have You Any Time (Early Take)   8. Behind That Locked Door (Demo)
4. Mama You've Been On My Mind (Demo)   9. All Things Must Pass (Demo)
5. Let It Be Me (Demo)   10. The Light That Has Lighted The World (Demo)