Werner, Kurt James / Schism Method
Album:Schism Method Collection:General
Artist:Werner, Kurt James Added:Jun 2012

A-File Activity
Add Date:2012-07-08 Pull Date:2012-09-09 Charts:RPM/Electronica, Classical/Experimental
Week Ending:Aug 26Aug 19Aug 12Aug 5

Recent Airplay
1.Mar 23, 2013:The Art Deco Walkout
Apocalypse Eagle
4.Aug 16, 2012:Catharsis and stuff
Apocalypse Eagle
2.Dec 04, 2012:Electrowave
Into The Ocean
5.Aug 16, 2012:The Conscious Soul
Twitch Constructor
3.Aug 22, 2012:Summer Session
Glyph Node
6.Aug 08, 2012:On the Genealogy of Brownian Motion
Forgetting Factor, Twitch Constructor

Album Review
Andy S
Reviewed 2012-07-08 
Instrumental. Snappy chiptune melodies get bombarded with algorithmically generated breakbeats and free noise, ending up with a record that ranges from danceable 8-bit freakouts to top-notch digital ambience. Kurt James Werner is (at time of writing) a grad student at CCRMA, and performed a set drawing on much of the same material as this album at KZSU's 2012 Day of Noise. His "music references elements of algorithmic and generative composition, breakbeat, chiptunes, musique concrète, circuit-bending, and (granular and otherwise) synthesis." Most tracks transition well for continuous play. FCC clean; everything well worth playing, but I'd start with 1, 10; or 7+8, 11 for more experimental side. –Andy

**1 - (4:13) quiet pastoral wash, scratchy percussion emerges; sudden shift into breakbeats at 1:00
2 - (1:38) simple synth intervals, mellow percussion
*3 - (4:31) glassy digital scratching and distant tones into perky chiptune melody
*4 - (2:53) gentle, glittery, crescendoing drone, sweeping white noise
5 - (5:43) fun, danceable chiptune, ecstatic percussion; dronier in final 1:30
6 - (3:42) taste-of-everything driving groove
*7 - (4:48) swelling outer-space ambience, continues into (8)
*8 - (1:25) jagged continuation of (7), rhythm emerges
9 - (3:04) dramatic, melodic chiptune anthem
**10 - (3:40) real sax and intense percussion in pounding, simple melody
*11 - (3:00) scenic free noise, swelling synth strains, peaceful resolution

Track Listing
1.Twitch Constructor 6.Schism Method (Mor Addelment Arimethe)
2.Forgetting Factor 7.Zero Error
3.Glyph Node 8.Paper Cranes
4.You Can Walk, You Can Walk 9.& Fingertips
5.Into The Ocean 10.Apocalypse Eagle
 11.Sunk Obelus