Somnambulists / Invisible Score, The
Album: Invisible Score, The   Collection:General
Artist:Somnambulists   Added:Jun 2012
Label:Distinct Mirror Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-02-09 Pull Date: 2013-04-14 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Apr 14 Mar 24 Mar 10 Feb 24 Feb 17 Feb 10
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 13, 2013: Noisejazz Catharsis
The Passing Of Centuries
4. Mar 04, 2013: "no way to say" 0005
Appearance Of Doubt
2. Mar 21, 2013: orangeasm (pt1)
Bliss And Non-Bliss, The Passing Of Centuries
5. Feb 19, 2013: The Sunset Life
Bliss And Non-Bliss
3. Mar 07, 2013: Ghost Trees
The Invisible Score
6. Feb 14, 2013: minimum entropy ii
Bliss And Non-Bliss

Album Review
Adam Pearson
Reviewed 2013-02-08
Experimental guitar/drone sounds. More weird feedback, droning, scraping textures and dissonant lengthy pieces from guitarist Warren Ng. He incorporates a guitar that sounds like hammering on nails, some tape effects, reversed tones, loops, dense textures with delay, reverb, lots of ringing and buzzing. Somewhere in between an improv and composed feel; heady, and certainly not something that can just fall into the background during listening. For fans of drumming on wine glasses and silverware. All instrumental and tense.

Disc 1:
*1. Sharp, ringing, looped siren drone contrasts with twangy western Tom Carter-isms. (13:31)
*2. Slow, echoing, flickering, hypnotic Dead Man’s bliss. (14:40)
3. Rich tapestry of tones, harsh guitar textures, and swiping maelstroms. Kind of like This Heat if they wanted to do solo drone guitar music. (13:26)
4. Dark, brief sprawl. (3:17)
5. Pronounced looped drone, dark, murky, and throbbing. (9:06)
Disc 2:
*6. Slow, quiet, lo-fi, drifting, ringing shards of feedback, uneasy, rumbling, gongs. (22:32)
7. Pensive, slow, methodical, lots of unresolved chords and slithering sounds. (18:35)
8. More slightly harsh scraped layers of ringing. (8:27)
*9. Piercing plucking; chiming, persistent 4/4 rhythm. (10:56)
10. More trippy, dark, rhythmic plucking, dreary feel; picks up to urgent nightmarish finish. (9:52)

Track Listing
1. The Passing Of Centuries   4. Appearance Of Doubt
2. Bliss And Non-Bliss   5. The Long Bow
3. Facotries Of Air   6. The Invisible Score
  7. Sonances I-Iv