Variety Lights / Central Flow
Album: Central Flow   Collection:General
Artist:Variety Lights   Added:Jun 2012
Label:Fire Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-01-26 Pull Date: 2013-03-31
Week Ending: Mar 10 Feb 24
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 07, 2013: The Show with T-Lex & Lolo
2. Feb 19, 2013: A Family Affair

Album Review
catherine harris
Reviewed 2013-01-11
Harmonized vocals stray to TV on the Radio region with big, epic sound and falsetto singing, but with more electronic/synth influence. Most of the time the genre-bending between electronica and indie rock works, but occasionally sounds dissonant/incongruous. But when it works, it totally works, with layered, catchy tracks. Play: 2, 4

1. Starlit – dreamy vocals, bagpipe-like synth melody, distorted voice, tons of layers, bass line throughout, fades out
2. Establishment** – Central, strong vocals, mourning strings, falsetto, shuffle with synth blips
3. Sea Faraway – 80’s drums, spoken/wining lyrics, TV on the Radio-ish interlude
4. Invisible Forest* – Tons of epic video-game guitar, sort of like Ratatat, dance beat, minor, urgent lyrics
5. Silent Too Long – Simple percussion beat, strong central vocals with electronic blips overlaid
6. Oh Setting Sun – Slower, laid back beat, hymn-like vocals
7. Sell Your Soul – Laid back groove, vocals kind of degenerate, heavy piano, synth
8. You Are So Famous – More paired down arrangement, airy flute and synth float over heavy percussion line and repetitive vocals
9. Crystal Cove – Growling, lower vocals, Halloween-esque, minor, drum solo sound like someone’s playing them in another room
10. Feeling All Alone – Laid back beat, 80’s feel, quieter vocals build with added synth and electronic bloops
11. Infinity Room – Tons of synth chords, blooming, restrained sound

Track Listing
1. Starlit   6. Oh Setting Sun
2. Establishment   7. Sell Your Soul
3. Sea Faraway   8. You Are So Famous
4. Invisible Forest   9. Crystal Cover
5. Silent Too Long   10. Feeling All Alone
  11. Infinity Room