Coltrane, Ravi / Spirit Fiction
Album:Spirit Fiction Collection:Jazz
Artist:Coltrane, Ravi Added:Jul 2012
Label:Blue Note 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2012-07-08 Pull Date:2012-09-09 Charts:Jazz
Week Ending:Sep 9Sep 2Aug 26Aug 19Aug 12Aug 5Jul 29Jul 22

Recent Airplay
1.Sep 20, 2014:The Proselytizer Radio News Hour in a House in Space
4.Jan 04, 2013:No Cover, No Minimum: Top Jazz of 2012
2.May 31, 2013:No Cover, No Minimum
Spirit Fiction
5.Jan 03, 2013:Top 100 Albums of 2012
Check Out Time
3.May 17, 2013:No Cover, No Minimum
6.Oct 05, 2012:No Cover, No Minimum
Check Out Time

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-07-06 
RAVI COLTRANE: Spirit Fiction
Blue Note, 2012

MODERN JAZZ – Saxophonist Coltrane (son of John) fronts two bands here, a quartet and a quintet, each bursting with A-list jazz talent. The music has a freewheeling openness and a shadowy tone, with everyone pulling in the same direction but finding their own ways to get there. Joe Lovano sits in for 9 & 10. Very fine, rewarding listening.

Ravi Coltrane : tenor & soprano sax

BAND ONE (1,3,4,6,7,11)
Luis Perdomo : piano
Drew Gress : bass
E.J. Strickland : drums

BAND TWO (2,5,8,9,10)
Ralph Alessi : trumpet
Geri Allen : piano
James Genus : bass
Eric Harland : drums

All tracks excellent! Fo’s Picks: 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

1. 5:04 – scattered band comes together gradually, hops & pops with freedom
2. 7:30 – dusky, striding feel with sax rolling over active, shifting rhythm
3. 2:28 – dark rhythmic sketch, really fine quartet interplay, reaches out
4. 6:47 – slow ballad, quite lovely; subdued sax, long bass solo, aching piano
5. 6:33 – open sax/trumpet intro, thoughtful quintet drive, great horn dialogue
6. 2:21 – drum/sax duet: big-city bustle with good rapport
7. 4:03 – free-sounding quartet: twisting, intertwining lines anchored by drums
8. 6:50 – a slow mope, rises gently: liquid horn/piano interplay, quiet bass
9. 7:26 – Monkish odd-bop, three horns and stuttering rhythm, solos stretch
10. 4:12 – unusual trio: two saxes + piano, moody meanderings in open space
11. 5:43 – shadowy sound, questioning soprano sax melody, perks up later

[ Fo ] - July 2012

Track Listing
1.Roads Cross 6.Spring & Hudson
2.Klepto 7.Cross Roads
3.Spirit Fiction 8.Yellow Cat
4.The Change, My Girl 9.Check Out Time
5.Who Wants Ice Cream 10.Fantasm
 11.Marilyn & Tammy