Various Artists / Other Heights White Label 010
Album: Other Heights White Label 010   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Oct 2012
Label:Other Heights  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-10-21 Pull Date: 2012-12-23 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Dec 23 Dec 16 Nov 4 Oct 28
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 27, 2013: Schlepping Cobalt
Planet Router
4. Oct 31, 2012: All Techno All the Time
Summer 91
2. Dec 18, 2012: Clubbing Zeal
5. Oct 22, 2012: The Big Love Show
Planet Router, Lost Signal
3. Dec 14, 2012: Friday Freak Fest
Lost Signal, 2qmt59, Planet Router

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-10-14
COLL: Other Heights White Label 010 Label: Other Heights

Other Heights seems to be developing a solid reputation for introducing a lot of new and underground names in techno & tech-house. This massive compilation has so much good stuff in it that rivals the punch & intensity of all the big techno names in Europe. The collection itself has so much variety in it, from warehouse pounders, grinding acid, and creepy trippy brainy stuff. For my money, my favorites are:

1. Ambient intro that features a sort of steel-drum sound
2. Pure techno. Great buildup and a liquidy acid effect. Cymbals, pads, the works.
3. Nervous warble leads into an incredibly pounding techno track. Intense.
4. Creepy techno w/ a woodpecker-like percussive layer. Sounds like a Plastikman classic.
5. Punishing. Simply a techno banger. Excellent space-y break in the middle.
6. Acidic. Tweaked-out analog manipulations and a driving beat. Good stuff.
7. Stronger acid-techno that's nastily funky in its patterned programming.
8. Stripped-down to bare essentials. Jumpy beats & percussion, and a lazy piano.
9. Faster and higher energy, but decidedly retro with an old-style Detroit acid groove.
10. Brutal. Bordering on crushing industrial but the swirly female vox keeps it cool.
11. Reverbing fem vox, metallic percussion, disco-ish, not a heavy-hitter but light.
12. Warm, old-school, w/ throwbacks to Detroit, R&B-ish vox samples, a bit of acid.
13. Deep, stop-start broken-beats with gentle synths & light vocal samples

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Gaust Vacant Depth (Intro)
2. Genlogue, Pehr Decadent City
3. Kretipleti Freadsinit
4. Unbalance Wandering Soul
5. Dicicco, Tom Planet Router
6. Suckut, Markus 2qmt59
7. Mosher, Brooks Lost Signal
8. Metrobox Monetics
9. J. Tijn Three 0 Freedom
10. Vvv Burrowing
11. Ozka Kmz
12. Myztical Summer 91
13. Brim Ldn