Deerhoof / Breakup Song
Album: Breakup Song   Collection:General
Artist:Deerhoof   Added:Oct 2012
Label:Polyvinyl Record Co.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-10-14 Pull Date: 2012-12-16
Week Ending: Dec 16 Dec 9 Dec 2 Nov 25 Nov 18 Nov 11 Nov 4 Oct 28
Airplays: 2 1 3 2 3 2 8 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 18, 2024: Fermentation Station
Fete D'adieu
4. Jan 31, 2020: Training Hour
There's That Grin
2. Oct 11, 2023: Fermentation Station
5. Jul 27, 2017: moodswings
3. Jul 16, 2022: Music Casserole
6. Nov 06, 2015: A Visit From Drum (Nature Walk)

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-10-14
EXPERIMENTAL POP- SF-based cuddly-noise-rockers Deerhoof squeeze out their 11th full-length, and somehow it manages to be both weirder and poppier than anything else they’ve done. Seemingly disparate noise, pop, and electronic elements coexist here, as is usual with Deerhoof, although the third of these is more prominent than ever. There is a lot of synth here, and the drummer mostly plays an electronic kit. And, like always Satomi is singing sugary-sweet melodies inarticulately over the top of everything else. The fusion is usually successful, but even when it’s a little off-kilter it’s hilarious. Not the best Deerhoof album, but it’s radically different from anything else they’ve made-- and, for that matter, anything else you’ve ever heard. I struggled to describe every track. Just PLAY THIS and find out how it sounds! Recommended to indie rock DJs and anyone who can tolerate shameless joy-- in bizarre form.

NO FCCs. (Although it’s really cute when Satomi says ‘hell yeah’ on #1)

(Attempts at) track descriptions and recommendations inside.

Songs have many parts. There will be surprises, and most of them will be pleasant. Recommendations:
Poppier-- 1, 2, 4, 6
Weirder-- 1, 3, 9, 10

1.* (2:03) Childlike melodies, noisy guitar, weird interludes. You’ve never heard anything like this.
2. (3:19) Poppy, simple synth-bassline. Childlike. Weirdo song structure. Electronic elements and noise-guitar interlude will make you giggle.
3.** (2:33) Bizarre Zappa-like melodies over a chugging, chemically-imbalanced rhythmic foundation.
4.**(2:51) Cheesy synth line, a little wonky. Funny and beautiful, somehow.
5. (3:15) Oriental tonality, bouncy synth bass. Joyful.
6.*** (2:22) My favorite. 6/4 funk, African sounding, moves into childlike pop.
7. (1:45) Epic (cheesy) synth, adorable pop, cacophonous guitar-- all in one song.
8. (3:04) Latin! Tight syncopation, wah guitar. A little too sweet for me.
9.** (3:02) Awesome instrumental interplay, anxious bassline.
10.*** (2:31) A little creepy, a lot funny. Cool vocal phrasing.
11. (3:16) Drummer Saunier: “we went for the Keith Richards-joins-ABBA vibe on this one.” Satomi is “tough as a robot on the dance floor.”

Track Listing
1. Breakup Songs   6. Flower
2. There's That Grin   7. To Fly Or Not To Fly
3. Bad Kids To The Front   8. The Trouble With Candyhands
4. Zero Seconds Pause   9. We Do Parties
5. Mothball The Fleet   10. Mario's Flaming Whiskers 3
  11. Fete D'adieu