Nardi, Daniela / Espresso Manifesto
Album: Espresso Manifesto   Collection:World
Artist:Nardi, Daniela   Added:Oct 2012

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-04-14 Pull Date: 2013-06-16 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jun 9 May 19 May 5
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 08, 2013: Music Casserole
3. May 01, 2013: Green Copper Radio
Chiamani Adesso
2. May 18, 2013: Music Casserole
Un Altra Vita

Album Review
librae jackson
Reviewed 2013-04-05
Daniela Nardi / Espresso Manifesto / Minerva Road

"Espresso Manifesto" is Daniela Nardi's effort to display the manifold characteristics of her Italian heritage, by showcasing the music of legendary artist, Paolo Conte, whom she describes with the words: "as Italian as Espresso. This collection of songs is, musically, a delightful peek into Italy's cultural landscape. Elements of American Jazz are present, but traditional Italian rhythms are the foundational basis of what's heard here. Most lyrics are sung in Italian.

Recommended: 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11

1. Via Con Me (2:42)
Swing groove, reminiscent of early jazz standards. Clarinet adds to the vintage feel, as does the scatting. Lyrics are sung in Italian, until the chorus, where in English, she repeats: "Wonderful...Good luck, my baby....I dream of you."

2. Sotto le Stelle del Jazz (4:13)
As a nice follow up to track 1's nostalgia, this song brings a modern flavor. Pleasant trumpeting , over a mellow, oceanic groove, where the bass, drums, and piano contribute splendidly. Slide sounds from the guitar also accompany the vocals quite well.

3. Gioco D'Azzardo (4:41)
Opens with voice & piano alone, before transitioning into a nice groove, where traditional Italian sounds are accented with hints of Reggae riddims. The accordion takes much of the space, and the clarinet solo at 3:25 leads the song to a pleasant end.

4. Genova Per Noi (4:06)
Mellow song with passionate vocal inflections. Guitar strumming takes the imagination to an Italian villa.

5. Come Di (3:35)
Another early jazz throwback, with hints of Duke Ellington. Clarinet and muted trumpet interact well together between vocal portions.

6. Nina (4:41)
Bass and piano set the mood for this slow paced, contemplative ballad, with beautiful solos from the guitar and trumpet, to accompany Daniela's vocals. Audible ambiance similar to Sade (the singer and the band).

7. Messico e Nuvole (4:41)
Sublime instrumentation at 1:20, as well as throughout Daniela's vocal portions. Similarities shared between the Latin cultures are elegantly articulated by the trumpet solo at 2:38.

8. Chiamami Adesso (4:29)
Begins with a guitar strumming, subtly enhanced by innovative studio techniques. Guitar-based groove continues, as vocals carry on, with delightful trumpeting throughout.

9. Gelato al Limon (3:34)
Happy sounding song, where the clarinet follows every vocal lyric, with perfect accompaniment.

10. Don't Break My Heart (3:07)
More nice coordination of clarinet to match vocals. Lyrics sung in English.

11. Un' Altra Vita (4:58)
This song can accurately be described with the term: "Italian Blues." Muted horn throughout adds to the old time jazzy flavor. Extraordinary guitar solo at 2:58, enhanced with nice echo effects.

12. Azzurro (2:28)
Voice and piano alone, with a show tune feel.

Track Listing
1. Via Con Me   7. Messico E Nuvvole
2. Sotto Le Stelle Del Jazz   8. Gelato Al Limon
3. Cioco D'azzardp   9. Chiamani Adesso
4. Cempva Per Moi   10. Don't Break My Heart
5. Come Di   11. Un Altra Vita
6. Nina   12. Azzurro