Klang / Brooklyn Lines... Chicago Spaces
Album: Brooklyn Lines... Chicago Spaces   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Klang   Added:Nov 2012
Label:Allos Documents  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-04-14 Pull Date: 2013-06-16 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jun 16 Jun 2 May 26 May 19 May 12 May 5 Apr 28 Apr 21
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 1 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 03, 2022: Rebop
Ukrainian Village
4. May 23, 2013: Rebop
Ukrainian Village
2. Jun 14, 2013: No Cover, No Minimum
Brooklyn Lines
5. May 17, 2013: No Cover, No Minimum
Blue Jays
3. May 30, 2013: Rebop
6. May 10, 2013: No Cover, No Minimum

Album Review
librae jackson
Reviewed 2013-04-05
Klang/Brooklyn Lines...Chicago Spaces/Allos

Composer and clarinet player, James Falzone, has compiled an imaginative team of musicians, to offer this thoughtful collection of free jazz. Modern and progressive, with subtle historical recollections.

Recommended: 1, 6, 8, 9

1. Brooklyn Lines (4:53)
Begins with James Falzone's quaint clarinet, which solos until 2:50, when the vibraphone picks up and carries the baton further down the steady path. Intricate drumming throughout. Clarinet arrangement, which started the song, is revisited at 3:59, leading into a nice conclusion.

2. Ukrainian Village (6:30)
Variegated composition. At 3:26, after the enchanting vibraphone solo, the clarinet brings the flow to a pause, as if to tell a very interesting story. At 4:05, the others, guided by the drums, add their perspectives.

3. Alone at the Brain (6:33)
Consists of several breakdowns, where the drummer's percussive variations define the mood, even as the clarinet guides the course.

4. Jazz Searching Self (1:57)
A short composition with a traditional jazz sounding arrangement. Hints of swing are sprinkled throughout, with busy drum work driving the pace. At 1:38, the clarinet makes percussive statements of its own, until the abrupt conclusion at 1:53.

5. It Felt As If Time Had Stopped (4:59)
Slow and contemplative. From 1:49- 3:44, the vibraphone radiates the space with a pensive solo. Immediately thereafter, the snare drum commences a march that leads to the song's end.

6. Ground (6:37)
Starts off with a groove set in motion by a steady clarinet riff. The groove is enhanced by the drums and the vibraphone soon opens the space for the clarinet to become more whimsical. There are several breakdowns throughout the song, but the groove resumes, until the long conclusion 5:52.

7. Chicago Spaces (4:11)
This is not a composition, but an improvisation. Aside from the interesting cracklebox sounds, there's not much to see here.

8. Blue Jays (3:26)
Nice tempo, with an almost-Latin tinge. Kick drum and rimshot provide suitable provisions for the pleasant groove.

9. Carol's Burgers (4:17)
A throwback to the jazz of old. Classic 40's-style swing. Wonderful bow work on the bassist's solo.

10. Sciurdae (6:26)
Another composition with crisp drum work that accompanies each of the other instruments' variations, with accurate precision.

11. Chicago Spaces (coda) (2:32)
Like track 7, an absolute improvisation.

Librae Jackson

Track Listing
1. Brooklyn Lines   6. Ground
2. Ukrainian Village   7. Chicago Spaces
3. Alone At The Brain   8. Blue Jays
4. Jazz Searching Self   9. Carol's Burgers
5. It Felt As If Time Had Stopped   10. Sciurudae
  11. Chicago Spaces (Coda)