Homme / Realization For The Ear
Album: Realization For The Ear   Collection:General
Artist:Homme   Added:Dec 2012
Label:Modular Expansion Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-12-29 Pull Date: 2013-03-03 Charts: Electronic, Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Feb 17 Jan 20 Jan 13 Jan 6
Airplays: 2 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 16, 2013: Everything 2.0
Ein Haufen
4. Jan 16, 2013: The Red Wheelbarrow
Ein Haufen
2. Feb 16, 2013: Music Casserole
5. Jan 08, 2013: Electrowave
Zwei Haufen Und Halb
3. Jan 19, 2013: Music Casserole
6. Jan 05, 2013: Music Casserole
Zwei Haufen

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-12-24
Homme: Realization For The Ear Label: Modular Expansion Records

Fascinating concept album from Homme. This collaboration between German techno & Polish cello artists has produced an album that is exotic, unlike anything I've heard. The effect of the cello automatically gives each track a haunted feel. The impact of the cello on the dance-y tracks somehow softens their punch and lends to more listenability rather than booty-shaking. The strongest tracks are #3 (Ein Haufen), #6 (Drei Haufen), and the otherwordly #8 (Woods).

1. Dubby ambient track that establishes the basic framework for the next track, with a folksy melody that sounds like a harmonica and some strings
2. An earthy & organic track that's more sensual and listenable rather than dancey. Soft & folksy melodies with what seems like a harmonica, then some cello improvisational work.
3. Dub-inflected house beats with electroacoustic crackling effects and fascinating cello work. The cello features strongly here, and takes this track to interesting heights.
4. Out-there ambient conceptual track. The cello has a ghostly & insistent feel, and the electronics & percussion add even more spookiness.
5. Using the framework from #4, we have some beats, but they are secondary to the main focus of the track, which is the sinister cello & spooky electronics.
6. Spacey and warm techno, with a sensuality that is carried by the cello. Flowing synth washes and a thumping beat sets the foundation for a nice dance track.
7. Musically, this is done in an electro-disco style, but the cello and electronic effects take this into something else unexplainable.
8. Broken-beat exotic funk. Cellos give it an interesting touch, but the otherworldly string effects actually provide a spooky medieval Japanese feel.

Track Listing
1. Mountains: Prolegomena   5. Zwei Haufen Und Halb
2. Mountains   6. Drei Haufen
3. Ein Haufen   7. Vier Haufen
4. Zwei Haufen   8. Woods