Doubleheart / Roca Ep
Album: Roca Ep   Collection:General
Artist:Doubleheart   Added:Dec 2012

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-07-21 Pull Date: 2013-09-22 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Sep 15 Sep 8 Sep 1 Aug 11 Aug 4 Jul 28
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 11, 2013: BLS_TuesSub_1900-2100
4. Aug 27, 2013: Tuesday Beats Part 03
2. Sep 10, 2013: BLS_SubShow_Hour03_Hour04
5. Aug 08, 2013: The Doldrummer
3. Sep 02, 2013: The Big Love Show Part 2
6. Jul 29, 2013: For Peninsula Report

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-12-24
Doubleheart: Roca EP Label: Shipwrec

Shipwrec has been putting out some innovative releases and this one doesn't disappoint. Doubleheart's EP literally goes all over the place, from electro-disco to schizophrenic breakbeat madness. Some of it verges on the utterly ridiculous (#4 "Fuentes"), and some of it is dirty-sexy ("Lizard"). I don't care if you think breakbeat is cheesy or silly, I think when it's done in a fun & entertaining way, it's all worth a try. Go for it.

1. "Grasso" - Highly entertaining pop-infused electro. Bouncing beats, cheery synths, robo-vocals, all noodling about and playful. Very catchy.
2. "Crank" - Broken-beat bass-heavy funk with huge electro grinds, vehicular sound effects, big thumping beats. Dirty and kind of naughty too.
3. "Lizard" - Could be called "the busy girl's lament" as she complains about having too much to do. A goofy bass-driven chugga-chugga electro slow-down grinder that's uber-dirty sexy and raw.
4. "Fuentes" - Breakbeat chaos. Afro-Cuban percussion, low-hertz bass grinds, thrown into a food processor and all chopped up, then re-assembled into this utterly mad party track.

Track Listing
1. Grasso   3. Lizard
2. Crank   4. Fuentes