Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Shorter, Wayne Quartet / Without A Net
Album:Without A Net Collection:Jazz
Artist:Shorter, Wayne Quartet Added:02/2013
Label:Blue Note 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2013-02-16 Pull Date:2013-04-21 Charts:Jazz
Week Ending:21 Apr14 Apr7 Apr31 Mar24 Mar17 Mar10 Mar3 Mar

 Recent Airplay
1.Jan 03, 2014:No Cover, No Minimum: Remembering 2013
S.S. Golden Mean
4.Apr 18, 2013:Rebop
S.S. Golden Mean
2.Apr 20, 2013:The Iron Skillet
Plaza Real
5.Apr 13, 2013:Noisejazz Catharsis
S.S. Golden Mean
6.Apr 04, 2013:No Cover, No Minimum
Starry Night

Album Review
Reviewed 2013-02-16 
Blue Note, 2013

MODERN JAZZ – One of the great geniuses of jazz leading one of its most brilliant and agile small groups. These are live recordings, mostly from a European tour in 2011. Shorter wails madly on soprano sax and brings calm balance to tenor, while the rest of the quartet constantly warps space and time. It’s deep, forceful, mind-bending music. Play it.

Wayne Shorter : soprano & tenor sax
Danilo Perez : piano
John Patitucci : bass
Brian Blade : drums
+ Imani Winds on #6

All impressive. Fo’s Picks: 1, 2, 3, 6, 8

1. 4:50 – built on an ominous riff: soprano sax & piano spin out tight curlicues
2. 8:50 – ballad: dramatic piano intro, peaceful sax, quartet roams, builds up
3. 5:19 – overlapped melodic fragments create a bright uptempo journey
4. 7:00 – updated Weather Report: scattered thrusts against a plodding beat
5. 3:06 – low-key, ominous, stalking: sax wails, drums push it up to the brink
6. 23:08 – lengthy tone poem, with wind ensemble for a bold orchestral sound; slow, careful development gets knotty in the middle third, long improv stretches for sax & piano including a furious dialogue
7. 12:47 – hypermodern rework of old movie tune, imposing, striking interplay
8. 8:14 – solo bass intro; quiet yet propulsive tune arcs through outer space
9. 4:13 – complex improvisational interplay, the density & tension rise, fall

[ Fo ] - 16 February 2013

Track Listing
1.Orbits 5.Myrrh
2.Starry Night 6.Pegasus
3.S.S. Golden Mean 7.Flying Down To Rio
4.Plaza Real 8.Zero Gravity To The 10th Power
 9.(The Notes) Unidentified Flying Objects