Calhoun, Will / Life In This World
Album: Life In This World   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Calhoun, Will   Added:May 2013
Label:Motema Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-06-17 Pull Date: 2013-08-19 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Aug 18 Aug 11 Jul 28 Jul 14 Jul 7 Jun 30 Jun 23
Airplays: 2 2 1 3 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 28, 2016: Rebop
Brother Will
4. Aug 17, 2013: Music Casserole
2. Jun 26, 2015: Rebop
Brother Will
5. Aug 14, 2013: aug-14-2013
Brother Will, Spectrum
3. Jan 01, 2014: 01-01-2014
6. Aug 09, 2013: No Cover, No Minimum
Afrique Kan'e

Album Review
Be Sharp
Reviewed 2013-06-08
MAINSTREAM JAZZ. Will Calhoun, drummer in the hard-rock group Living Color (late 80s – early 90s), shows off his jazz training on this album containing some standards and some originals. A multitude of credited musicians form up into various small groups (mostly 2s, 3s, 4s). Will’s drumming is prominent & excellent. Lead is usually either Donald Harrison’s alto sax or Wallace Roney’s trumpet. Marc Cary plays keys throughout. Guest bassists, percussionists, etc fill in.

All instrumental (except #12). No FCC issues.

1 ** Fast. Call and response between muted trumpet & electric bass. Tinkling piano, spacey synth, furious drumming. (4:12)
2 ** Very fast. Classic acoustic piano, bass, drums trio. Very energetic and lively. (5:51)
3 * Fast. Bass solo starts. Joyous alto sax leads most of the way. Piano, bass, drums accompany. (7:09)
4 Mid-tempo. Straightforward take of a Cole Porter song on piano. Not much to it. (6:19)
5 * Mid-tempo. Slightly upbeat, slightly swinging interpretation of Coltrane’s slow ballad. Alto sax gives it a lighter, brighter tone than original. African percussion adds an interesting layer. (7:09)
6 * Fast. Same trio as #2. Competent rendering of Monk classic; nothing especially new. (5:15)
7 Mid-fast. Mash up: Africa rhythm, melody on trumpet, bluesy piano, funky electric bass. (8:12)
8 Mid-fast. Just acoustic piano and drums. Joyous and catchy. (8:23)
9 * Fast. Alto sax & piano share this Wayne Shorter composition. Samples of “Bye Bye Blackbird” appear. Drums are more restrained than on most tracks. Catchy & happy. (8:02)
10 * Fast. Big-ensemble sound with trumpet, keys, bass, drums, lots of electronics. Deep & dark in a late Miles Davis manner. A wild ride. (2:34)
11 * Mid-fast. Singable melody on alto sax; snappy drums & piano; the incomparable Ron Carter on upright bass. (4:34)
12 Slow. Mellow love song. Neither the lyrics nor Will’s singing are particularly good. (3:10)

Track Listing
1. Brother Will   7. Afrique Kan'e
2. Spectrum   8. He Who Hops
3. King Tut Strut   9. Etcetera
4. Love For Sale   10. Abu Bakr Ii
5. Naima   11. Dorita
6. Evidence   12. Love's Parody