Frisell, Bill / Big Sur
Album:Big Sur Collection:Jazz
Artist:Frisell, Bill Added:Jul 2013

A-File Activity
Add Date:2013-07-14 Pull Date:2013-09-15 Charts:Jazz
Week Ending:Sep 8Aug 25Aug 18Aug 11Aug 4Jul 28Jul 21

Recent Airplay
1.Jan 06, 2022:No Cover, No Minimum (rebroadcast from Nov 23, 2017)
Sing Together Like A Family
4.Apr 10, 2015:Rebop
Sing Together Like A Family, The Music Of Glen Deven Ranch
2.Jun 14, 2019:Traditions
Going To California
5.Dec 13, 2013:No Cover, No Minimum
Sing Together Like A Family
3.Nov 23, 2017:No Cover, No Minimum
Sing Together Like A Family
6.Oct 11, 2013:Fight or Flight
Highway 1

Album Review
Reviewed 2013-07-14 
OKeh, 2013

CHAMBER JAZZ – This series of sketches, commissioned for the 2012 Monterey Jazz Festival and inspired by the central California coastline, mixes in large doses of Americana, classical (and sometimes even rock) with a very folksy core sound. The string-heavy quintet includes Frisell’s guitar along with violin, viola, cello and drums. It shines with a mix of melancholy, serenity and dark vibrancy.

Fo’s Picks: 1, 2, 4, 8, 10, 12, 17, 18, 19

1. 3:46 – sparkling, gently rocking tune… friendly feel of home
2. 4:22 – relaxed song (sounds like it should have lyrics), lopes along casually
3. 0:53 – jaunty rockish interlude
4. 3:17 – slow mix of a heavy, ponderous theme and lighthearted spirit
5. 2:44 – happy surf-rock ditty… if the Ventures were a string quartet…
6. 1:32 – too-short road tune, guitar lopes along over spinning strings
7. 5:31 – gentle chamber music becomes a march, turns strange & edgy
8. 3:18 – steady stroll, but there’s lots of fragility in the string melody
9. 1:39 – slow droning interlude, something half-seen in the mist
10. 4:51 – sinuous and mysterious, rolls forward toward the unknown
11. 4:05 – alternates catchy little theme with a sweeping vista
12. 4:40 – upbeat bounce, lightly swooping strings dance around each other
13. 1:39 – very relaxed with a Neil Young folk-rock touch
14. 3:05 – spare chamber-jazz, all pained harmony and odd angles
15. 2:01 – upbeat marching tune: moves forward in a straight line
16. 4:11 – strange, relaxed slump; a drunken feel with weird harmony
17. 4:10 – friendly melody in a rotating series of shifting tempos/rhythms
18. 4:14 – nostalgic country ballad: really interesting string arrangement here
19. 4:36 – careful but beautiful: guitar paces the periphery, strings drift within

[ Fo ] - 14 July 2013

Track Listing
1.The Music Of Glen Deven Ranch 10.Highway 1
2.Sing Together Like A Family 11.A Beautiful View
3.A Good Spot 12.Hawks
4.Going To California 13.We All Love Neil Young
5.The Big One 14.Big Sur
6.Somewhere 15.On The Lookout
7.Gather Good Things 16.Shacked Up
8.Cry Alone 17.Walking Stick (For Jim Cox)
9.The Animals 18.Song For Lana Weeks
 19.Far Away