Dundov, Petar / Sailing Off The Grid
Album: Sailing Off The Grid   Collection:General
Artist:Dundov, Petar   Added:Aug 2013
Label:Music Man Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-08-18 Pull Date: 2013-10-20 Charts: Electronic, Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Oct 6 Sep 22 Sep 15 Sep 8 Sep 1 Aug 25
Airplays: 1 1 6 6 5 4

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 07, 2017: The Offbeat Generation
Sur La Mer Avec Mon Ami
4. Jan 02, 2014: KZSU Top 100 of 2013
2. Feb 21, 2017: The Offbeat Generation
5. Oct 03, 2013: The Sunset Life
3. Mar 08, 2014: Music Casserole
6. Sep 20, 2013: Friday Beats 1600-1900
Enter The Vortex, Moving

Album Review
Reviewed 2013-08-16
Petar Dundov - Sailing off the Grid Label: Music Man

This is Petar Dundov's 3rd album, and it's an epic work of electronica. The tracks range from 7 to 13 minutes long, and only about half of it is "dancey", the other half consists of wonderful ambient experimental compositions that explore the psychedelic side of electronic music. It's a fascinating album that pushes the evolution of electronica further. In terms of danceable tracks, "Moving" (#3) is the strongest track with its exotic guitar improv that grabs you and doesn't let go. The title track (#6) "Sailing off the Grid" is gorgeous and exotic, and gets better with repeated listens. As for the more chilled-out tracks, "Sur La Mer Avec Mon Ami" (#7) and "Cradle" (#8) are also great - it's blissful and provides a little nudge of bass when you need it. All tracks are interesting, but those 4 are the best. Try all, but especially 2,6,7,8.

1. "Enter The Vortex" (9:29) - Lush, beautiful ambient synthscape. Sunny shimmering in the second half brings out warmth and bliss.
2. "Yesterday is Tomorrow" (8:21) - Has an Italo-disco bassline flair, as distinctive synths build up in intensity.
3. "Moving" (9:21) - An epic psychedelic dance track. The guitar improv is truly mesmerizing, the synths are emotional and powerful.
4. "Spheres" (8:13) - Slower and moody epic that has 80s-esque melodies and bassline. Dramatic and introspective.
5. "White Spring" (10:04) - Psychedelic meanderings with intricate melodies and a driving bassline.
6. "Sailing off the Grid" (13:20) - The title track is epic. Low bassy broken-beats nod your head along, with mind-altering but blissful synths.
7. "Sur La Mer Avec Mon Ami" (11:34) - Sloooow burn here - sumptuous and sensuous synths fluttering and washing about, with an occasional touch of a bassy beat.
8. "Cradle" (7:16) - Gentle synth washes and a melody that seems to be drawn from a walking jazz/blues number.

Track Listing
1. Enter The Vortex   5. White Spring
2. Yesterday Is Tomorrow   6. Sailing Off The Grid
3. Moving   7. Sur La Mer Avec Mon Ami
4. Spheres   8. Cradle