Kozelek, Mark & Jimmy Lavalle / Perils From The Sea
Album: Perils From The Sea   Collection:General
Artist:Kozelek, Mark & Jimmy Lavalle   Added:Sep 2013
Label:Caldo Verde  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-09-09 Pull Date: 2013-11-11
Week Ending: Nov 10 Oct 20 Oct 13 Oct 6 Sep 29 Sep 22 Sep 15
Airplays: 2 3 3 2 1 4 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 23, 2019: Brownian Motion
Somehow The Wonder Of Life Prevails
4. Jul 31, 2014: The Sunset Life
Somehow The Wonder Of Life Prevails
2. Sep 11, 2019: Brownian Motion
Somehow The Wonder Of Life Prevails
5. Mar 18, 2014: late night dryer
Somehow The Wonder Of Life Prevails
3. Jan 27, 2016: Brownian Motion
You Missed My Heart
6. Nov 07, 2013: The Sunset Life
Ceiling Gazing

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2013-09-14
Mark Kozelek (Red House Painters, Sun Kil Moon) and Jimmy LaValle (The Album Leaf) team up for a series of thoughtful, pretty, electronically driven meanderings. LaValle provides music, Kozelek lyrics and vocals. For Kozelek, who’s been working almost exclusively with nylon-string guitar lately, this is a very different musical direction, and he uses it to expand and develop his newly conversational lyric style. Not all the songs work, but by and large this is a fascinating and engrossing listen. Favorites: 1, 5, 8, 9, 11. FCC WARNING: 2, 3.

1. *(5:16)—Slow, chintzy-sounding but catchy and well done. Kozelek worries about his brother and reminisces about the past.
2. (5:10)—FCC WARNING (f***). Mid-tempo, dark electro. Kozelek sings about a special dime he stole as a child and his attempt to make amends.
3. (7:11)—FCC WARNING (multiple “f***”s). Slow and chill. About a construction worker who worked on Kozelek’s house and got deported.
4. (8:12)—Mid-tempo, similar in sound to track two. Kozelek sings about travel, love, and death.
5. *(8:09)—Beatless, dreamy, optimistic, lovely. Kozelek reflects on his life as he tries to fall asleep.
6. (5:40)—Medium-slow murder ballad. The lyrics feel paired to the wrong music; this sounds almost Christmassy.
7. (6:17)—Medium-slow, soft, dreamy. About how much Kozelek loves his girlfriend.
8. *(7:56)—Fast, hazy, aquatic. Kozelek delivers some particularly poetic and sad lyrics about his neighbors.
9. *(7:26)—Mid-tempo. Poppier and more distinctly electronic sound. Tour stories, memories. Gets really interesting when Kozelek remembers people who told him he “wouldn’t amount to much of anything.” Nice chorus.
10. (5:52)—Mid-tempo, soft, lush. Kozelek meditates on evil and ruination.
11. *(10:32)—Slow, melancholy, spine-tingling. Drones, piano, minimal beat. Kozelek tells stories of dead friends but, as the title implies, turns this into an undoubtedly hopeful song.

Track Listing
1. What Happened To My Brother   6. You Missed My Heart
2. 1936   7. Caroline
3. Gutavo   8. He Always Felt Like Dancing
4. Baby In Death Can I Rest Next To Your Gr   9. By The Time That I Awoke
5. Ceiling Gazing   10. Here Come More Perils From The Sea
  11. Somehow The Wonder Of Life Prevails