Deer Tick / Negativity
Album: Negativity   Collection:General
Artist:Deer Tick   Added:Oct 2013
Label:Partisan Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-12-12 Pull Date: 2014-02-21
Week Ending: Jan 26 Jan 19 Jan 12 Jan 5 Dec 29 Dec 15
Airplays: 2 2 1 2 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 24, 2014: Time Traveler
The Rock
4. Jan 17, 2014: Time Traveler
The Rock
2. Jan 23, 2014: The Peninsula Report
The Rock
5. Jan 08, 2014: Sunflower Sutra
The Rock
3. Jan 18, 2014: Music Cassrole
Hey Doll
6. Jan 04, 2014: Around The Bend
The Dream's In The Ditch

Album Review
Frankie Conover
Reviewed 2013-10-28
Deer Tick / Negativity
Pretty wide variety in style throughout though mostly “indie synth folk pop.” Quite a few ballad-y songs with piano and strings but also a few upbeat ones that are more guitar driven. Everything has a solid groove, regardless of tempo. Some songs are almost pure folk and others are very synth and heavy guitar. Tracks 1 and 4 are the most fun by far. Favorite Tracks: 1, 4, 11, 12

Sounds like: Blind Pilot, Neutral Milk Hotel, The Shins, The Black Keys


1. 4:14 Starts quiet, moody, minimal, harmonies, low end bass synth, kicks in more driving, voice more strained, horn part, second half has a lot of momentum
2. 3:36 Drum fill and big chord intro, drops into groove, vocals sound more like the troggs, chorus is slow but big, melodic solos
3. 3:02 Piano and walking bass, softer, nice vocal melody with subtle runs and raw tone, feels ballad-y, smooth horn outro
4. 3:11 Synths and guitar, solid drums throughout, both catchy melody and catchy riff, nice combo of lush arrangement and simple phrases, my favorite
5. 4:51 Loose drum groove and acoustic guitar, more minor melody, slow but has momentum, a few walk ups stand out as a quicker rhythm
6. 4:46 Another slow tune, lighter percussion on top of drums, sweet drop out and drum roll build up, outro with varied instrumentation
7. 4:25 More horn based, big intro, quiet verse but builds into the chorus, lilting triplet groove, solo with cathartic finish and smooth decrescendo to the end
8. 3:39 Reverb all over the place, chorus backing vocals, lead vox have cleaner tone, clean guitar solo with fuzzy rhythm section, haunting synth melody
9. 4:18 Country-influenced upbeat acoustic guitar, distorted guitar solo throughout, duet with female vocalist – smooth, midrange voice, nice simple melodies
10. 3:08 Piano and strings, slow and simple, nice contrast with the straining vocals
11. 5:39 Heaviest song by far, distorted guitars, classic loud-quiet-loud, big chaotic outro, vocals buried but shouting
12. 3:25 Pretty and intricate guitar parts, simple but strong melody, folk song

Track Listing
1. The Rock   7. Trash
2. The Curtain   8. Thyme
3. Just Friends   9. In Our Time
4. The Dream's In The Ditch   10. Hey Doll
5. Mirror Walls   11. Pot Of Gold
6. Mr. Sticks   12. Big House