Various Artists / Boardwalk Empire Presents: Sounds Of The Onyx
Album: Boardwalk Empire Presents: Sounds Of The Onyx   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Jan 2014
Label:Giant Steps Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-01-17 Pull Date: 2014-03-21

Recent Airplay
1. May 25, 2023: ModernTekNews
Stopping the Traffic

Album Review
Henry C-G
Reviewed 2014-01-18
Artist: Various
Title: Boardwalk Empire – Sounds of the Onyx

This “promo-only” release offers a number of remixed 1920s jazz tracks inspired by HBO’s show “Boardwalk Empire.” Most of the tracks feature snippets of old-timey rompey-dompey jazz vocals and horns over synth drums, bass, and keyboards. To my ear, the tracks manage to strip all of the magic out the very soulful Prohibition-era samples. Track 6 is the most successful of the bunch.

No FCC detected.

1 (3:42) - Looped beat with looped horns on top and piano samples behind—dopey
2 (3:38) - Retro old 30's style trumpet and vocals over synth beat. Scratching and looped vocals.
3 (3:35) - Spacey airy track with sampled retro vocals
4 (4:49) - Smooth quiet trumpet line loop over synth drums and bass. Almost easy listening. Trying to be funky/smooth but is too smooth for me
5 (3:03) - Tinny old-radio sound intro into Ratatat-like track
6 *(3:14) - Echo-ey track with fat bass line. It's my favorite of the album, but that's not saying much.

Reviewed by Henry C-G

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Vince Giordano's Nighthawks Sugarfoot Stomp (Pete Rock Remix)
2. Clarence Williams' Blue Five Feat. Eva Taylor Red Hot Flo From Kokomo (Jazz Vampires) (Dj Jazzy Jeff Remix)
3. Ethel Waters One Sweet Letter From You (Om'mas Keith Remix)
4. Lloyd Scott & His Orchestra Happy Hour Blues (Shafiq Husayn Remix)
5. Jim Jackson Bootlegging Blues (Jayceeoh & B-Sides Remix)
6. Charlie Johnson's Paradise Ten Orchestra You Ain't The One (Tall Black Guy Remix)