Blood Of The Black Owl / Light The Fires!
Album: Light The Fires!   Collection:General
Artist:Blood Of The Black Owl   Added:Jan 2014

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-01-24 Pull Date: 2014-03-28 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Mar 23 Mar 16 Mar 2 Feb 16 Feb 9 Feb 2
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 17, 2014: Deathcrush
Eind Eye
4. Feb 10, 2014: Deathcrush
Disgust And The Horrible Realization Of Apathy
2. Mar 10, 2014: Deathcrush
Two Rivers At The Tree Line
5. Feb 03, 2014: Deathcrush
Two Rivers At The Tree Line
3. Feb 24, 2014: Deathcrush
6. Jan 31, 2014: A Visit From Drum (Cool Song No. 2)
Eind Eye

Album Review
The Grunt
Reviewed 2014-01-30
Blood of the black owl
RIYL: Om (2/3s of Sleep), Neil Young's Dead Man Soundtrack, Funeral Doom, Nature Themes

This album is SUPER MELLOW but AWESOME AS FUCK. Native American seeming influences and nature sounds / wooden flutes abound. The vocals are growly, but not aggressive, and 100% intelligible. Expect every song to be beautiful (except maybe #4, which is still great!). PLAY ANYTHING and MENTION THAT THIS IS RELEASED ON BINDRUNE RECORDS!

1.) (13:10) Deep echoing throat singing, slow tribal beat, droning strings, flutes that sounds like wolf howls. Pagan ritual drone. Fade out 20sec early.
2.) (5:09) Sitar-like droning clean guitar, bells, ghost noises, chanting "staring through the window of decay".
3.) (13:36) Eerily descending chime sounds over slow acoustic guitars. Wooden flutes. Slow Neil Young jam with effects. 7:30 some harmonious chanting and throat singing.
4.) (7:30) Slow doom metal, bass and guitar play same riff, rough vocals with overdubs, wooden flutes.
5.) (10:27) Beautiful slow clean guitars and bass (think Om) with rough-and-growly-but-somehow-tranquil echoing vocals.
6.) (13:03) Running water, whispers, acoustic guitar, wolves in the background, slightly dissonant wooden flutes. Tribal sections with nature sounds. Slow sparse and beautiful. After 7min, changes to slow fuzzy bass riff and sad-sounding yells / screams.
7.) (10:21) Funeral doomy, brief ambient interlude, then back to slow doom. Some of those eerie falling sounds again.

Track Listing
1. Caller Of The Spirit   4. Sundrojan
2. Eind Eye   5. Two Rivers At The Tree Line
3. Rise And Shine   6. Soil Magicians
  7. Disgust And The Horrible Realization Of Apathy