Zud / Good, The Bad, And The Damned..., The
Album: Good, The Bad, And The Damned..., The   Collection:General
Artist:Zud   Added:Feb 2014

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-02-14 Pull Date: 2014-04-18 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Apr 13 Mar 23 Mar 9 Feb 23
Airplays: 1 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 07, 2014: Deathcrush
A Skull Shaped Bell
4. Mar 03, 2014: Deathcrush
Portal To Infinity
2. Mar 17, 2014: Deathcrush
The Junction
5. Mar 02, 2014: Funk to Folk
Dendrite Fumes
3. Mar 07, 2014: Aporeia some more
A Skull Shaped Bell
6. Feb 17, 2014: Deathcrush
Portal To Infinity

Album Review
The Grunt
Reviewed 2014-02-14
Tags: Blackened Rock, Organic Black Metal, Rock, Fucking groovy, Improv Guitar Solos, Maine
RIYL: Blue Oyster Cult + Black Metal, Agalloch

Fresh and Awesome! I'm having a hard time coming up with good comparisons for this band…it's really like jamming 70s rock (Blue Oyster Cult, Pink Floyd, Black Sabbath, etc) but with a black metal flair. On the whole, it's far more rock-oriented than the early metallers (Motorhead, Venom, etc.) Very organic sounding. If you pay attention, you can understand every word that's screamed. Released Nov2013 on CD, limited to 333 copies available only from the band. This is totally worth your time.

1.) Random background noises, intro, skip
2.) + + (12:41) Starts out soft, moves into jam rock territory, then rips into the organic old-school blackened thrash / rock hybrid. Desperate blackened vox. Softens into extended 70s rock jam for latter half of the song…you wouldn't even know there was screaming a minute ago.
3.) (8:24) Rock instrumentation with blackened vocals until black metal at 3:30. Afterwards trades off between jams and metal. fade out when the transition happens at 7:50, lots of FCCs at 7:55.
4.) + + (9:41) Slow black metal riffs. Nice evil vocals. This is the most overtly metal song thus far but it's slower than you would expect for the genre, which actually feels pretty good.
5.) + + (9:15) Post-rock intro with movie samples moving into a kind of melodic black metal. Eventually settles into slower rock/metal hybrid with jamming guitar solos. Last 30sec is jangling guitar noise.

Track Listing
1. Portal To Infinity   3. Blood And Twilight
2. A Skull Shaped Bell   4. The Junction
  5. Dendrite Fumes