Funerary Call / Nightside Emanations
Album: Nightside Emanations   Collection:General
Artist:Funerary Call   Added:Apr 2014
Label:Malignant Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-04-25 Pull Date: 2014-06-27 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Jun 22 Jun 15 Jun 8 May 18 May 4
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 19, 2014: Eclectic Erudition
Upon The Heath
4. May 14, 2014: Brownian Motion
Upon The Heath
2. Jun 14, 2014: Music Casserole
Upon The Heath
5. May 12, 2014: Deathcrush
Upon The Heath
3. Jun 07, 2014: BravoMarco Variety Show
Thee I Invoke
6. Apr 28, 2014: Deathcrush
Seven Candles Burning

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-04-25
DEVIL-WORSHIP MUSIC. No lyrics about Satan, there aren’t even any words, let alone melodies—this is haunting, surreal dark-ambient music designed to evoke the innermost depths of Hades. Eerie whispers, crackling flames, thundering echoes, this is a startling interplay between found-sound field recordings and ritualistic drone-craft. Released two years ago by our friends at Malignant Records, but it’s still fresh and relevant as ever.
RIYL Lustmord, Maculatum, Suteth Hexen

1. (6:00) ABANDON ALL HOPE, YE WHO ENTER THIS ALBUM. Stark subterranean nightmares, all winds down to minimal metallic screeching sounds by the end
2. (8:11) Starts with grating mechanical noise that subsides into rumbling sub-bass pulses, ghastly echoes and crashing cymbals; percussion follows no rhythmic structure but just adds to the unnerving atmosphere.
3. (10:40)* starts quiet and whispery with occasional bursts of bass tones (pretty damn quiet until around 1:30), builds into an awe-inspiring mélange of gurgled demon-chanting and fearsome, cavernous soundscapes
4. (10:32)*** thudding bass pulses, bell chimes, a dark windy vortex of hellfire
5. (6:32) ritual horn-blowing with bass atmospheres, ends with some chill rain samples
6. (7:40)** the thundering march of an Orc army readying its siege on human civilization—will we survive, or is this the end???

Track Listing
1. Wands Of Fire   4. Seven Candles Burning
2. Nightside Emanations   5. The Calling
3. Thee I Invoke   6. Upon The Heath